Birthday Balloon Card

Birthday Balloons 1I’ve always loved arts and crafts. There’s something about making things that is just so much fun! My most recent hobby, which I’m finding very absorbing, is card making.

It being a new hobby to me I am lacking in a lot of the equipment that card makers and paper crafters usually have. I don’t have die cutters, I only have a very few stamps (and those were bought in the last week or so), I don’t have a craft knife, cutting board, fancy inks… I have some interesting papers but not a huge amount. I only have two punches. I do have card bases, which I managed to get at a discount. They’re pretty important.

I don’t think it’s a huge problem that I’m lacking these things though. It forces me to be imaginative and come up with different ways of doing things. For example, instead of die cutting the shapes I needed for the balloons on this card, or using a specially designed punch for them, I used a biscuit cutter as a starting point to draw around to get the shape and then adjusted it to my needs. But more on that in the actual post!

(Apologies if I get any terms wrong – like I said, I’m a beginner! If you spot an error let me know and feel proud of yourself for helping me to learn.)Birthday Balloons 2


 

What I used:

Cream card base

Patterned blue card

Blue paper with clouds

Yellow card (three different kinds)

Paper strip in dark blue

Embroidery floss in silver

Printer paper, ink and card for the written ‘tag’

Glue

Scissors and rotary paper cutter


 

How I did it:

First I cut the blue card and paper to the size I wanted. I used a rotary paper trimmer to get the lines as straight as possible. I checked the positioning then carefully stuck them onto the card base. I then stuck the dark blue strip over the joining line.

Using a petal shaped biscuit cutter I marked an outline in the foamy yellow card (works brilliantly because it makes an indent so you don’t even need to draw around it.) I then cut out the shape and trimmed it until I was happy that the size and shape were appropriate.

I used the first balloon as a template for the other two which were each cut from slightly different shades of yellow paper. After playing around with the layout and positioning of the balloons I glued them in place.

Next I cut lengths of embroidery floss in silver. I tied a knot towards one end of the floss, and stuck the knots next to the ends of each balloon. I also glued down the length of the floss with an aim towards making it look floaty.

Finally I wanted to add “Happy 50th Birthday” to the front of the card. As I had no stamps at the time, and am not the neatest writer, I printed the phrase and stuck the paper onto a piece of card which I then positioned and stuck onto the card.


 

Birthday Balloons 3What I’d do differently:

This was my very first attempt at making a card in this way. I learned a lot from it but of course there are things I would do differently. The background papers are not completely aligned to the card base. You can see this at the bottom. In future I would try to avoid this.

Having stamps to add wording to the cards would be very beneficial.

Whilst I’m happy with how the balloons turned out the process would of course have been much quicker using die cutters or punches to make them. I hope that over time I will be able to build up a selection of equipment to help in this regard.


 

Let me know what you think! I’m pretty happy with how it ended up, and I really hope the recipient likes it. If you’re a card maker, I’d love to hear how you would have done this differently or any suggestions you have to improve it. If you’re not, I encourage you to give it a go. It’s fun!

And here’s a sneak peek of some other cards I’ve made. They will be coming up in future posts!

Balloons, Butterflies, Top HatLove,

Lady Joyful

6 thoughts on “Birthday Balloon Card

Leave a Reply

