Photo-A-Day: February 20th

February 20th 2016Are you familiar with the magpie rhyme? I’m not certain of its origins, but it goes like this:

One for sorrow,
Two for joy,
Three for a girl,
Four for a boy,
Five for silver,
Six for gold,
Seven for a secret
Never to be told.

Actually I know there’s another version with the first half being different (joy, mirth, death, birth) but this is the one I’m most familiar with.

When I was walking home from work earlier this week I saw a group of magpies in a tree. Five of them in fact. Of course by the time I’d fished the camera out of my bag they’d decided to fly around and rearrange themselves so that it was impossible for me to get a picture of them all together…

A couple of days later I whilst on the bus in the morning I saw another tree full of magpies. I didn’t have time to get a picture as we drove past, but a very quick count revealed that there were about 15 of them! I wonder what that means?

Love,

Lady Joyful

Leave a Reply

