Orange Tiles

Orange TilesToday’s card is a response to several challenges. Firstly CAS(E) this Sketch, whose challenge provided the layout. Daring Cardmakers‘ ‘Getting Geometric’ challenge gave me a better idea of how I wanted the card to look, with the ‘Warm Colours’ challenge at Cute Card Thursday giving me inspiration for the colour scheme. And last but no means least, CASology‘s ‘Distress’ challenge.

 

The sketch given by CAS(E) this sketch is a very simple one:

Daring Cardmakers provided some inspiration images for their challenge:

Cute Card Thursday’s theme was simply to use warm cosy colours, and is open to interpretation. CASology’s challenge is also open to interpretation, and just requires involving ‘distress’ in some way.

Orange Tiles 2When I first saw the layout I really had no idea what to do for it. I toyed with the idea of skipping that challenge. Then the geometric challenge showed up and I realised the two could be quite fun to put together. Only problem was I couldn’t find any geometric patterned paper I liked from the ones I had available. I looked on my favourite craft shop website and found a pack that would work, but also noticed a stamp on my wish list that seemed like it would be perfect. Plus it was cheaper, and stamps can be used and reused whilst papers can’t so much.

As I was ordering the stamp I decided to have a look at inks, and ended up buying Tim Holtz Distress Ink in Spiced Marmalade which I felt would work perfectly as a warm colour. Extra bonus is that it enabled me to tie in the distress challenge!

Putting the card together was very simple. First I stamped on the simple sentiment in the Spiced Marmalade. Then I used my new stamp to stamp on the background. It was a little difficult getting it all aligned, and the top of the card (where I started) is not as well done as the bottom of the card.

Orange Tiles 3And that was it! I didn’t need to do anything else, except wait for the ink to dry. I’m really happy with how it turned out, and I really love the pattern of the new stamp. I did manage to smudge the sentiment a little, but nothing too major. And there’s a couple of places that the stamp didn’t quite take, but that just adds to the distressed look!

Love,

Lady Joyful

13 thoughts on “Orange Tiles

  1. I love the geometric effect you got from that fantastic stamp! Love that it reminds me of old, ornate tiles – the distressed ink was perfect for this!! Great job! So great to have you join us at CASology this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The stamp really is lovely. When I saw it I had to put it on my wishlist, and I just jumped at the chance to get it. It’s even better than I hoped 🙂 Thanks for having me in the challenge 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

