Just a Foxy Note

Just a Foxy NoteThis card is a response to Mojo Monday 436, TCP Tuesday Challenge #308, and the current Mod Squad challenge.

The layout is based on the one below as provided by Mojo Monday. I changed it up a bit by using diamond shapes instead of circles. Mostly because I don’t have any punches that I could have used for it, so I figured a shape with straight edges would be easiest. I cut them out just with a craft knife.

TCP Tuesday Challenge 308 and the Mod Squad challenge are both to use animals. I currently have four animal stamps – elephant, fox, squirrel and butterfly. I also have a butterfly punch. I decided to use the fox stamp as I knew I wanted to use the paw print paper, and the fox seemed the best choice to go with that.

I decided to keep the card pretty simple. After cutting out the diamonds on the side I measured and cut a strip of the paw print patterned paper (try saying that 5 times…) and adhered that in place. It’s a shame the paws are so widely spaced, I think. It would’ve been nice to fit more in each peephole. Although I do like how the one at the bottom only has one paw.

Next I lined up and stamped my sentiment. I used my new Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink because I thought that would look good with the fox. And the stamp I used for the sentiment was from the Avery Elle Petal Panel set.ย As you can see I decided to forgo the banner and just stamp the sentiment in its place.

The final component was the fox, which I stamped in black. I have problems sometimes with this stamp not stamping properly, and that happened again on this occasion. The middle of the fox (so the end of the nose and parts of the face) only partially stamped so I had to ink up and go over it again. As a result the stamping looks a bit messy…ย I coloured in the fox with my colouring pencils.

Just a Foxy Note 2Finally Iย adhered the whole panel to the card-base.

Now, in the interest of purposeful practice and striving to improve… I do think my stamping is improving (the sentiment worked out pretty well!) but it still needs some work. That said I do need to try to figure out whether it’s just a case of a problem with that particular stamp (the fox one). I also am definitely seeing the benefit of punches, and very much regretting not investing in the square punches I saw 50% off last week…

Love,

Lady Joyful

9 thoughts on “Just a Foxy Note

Leave a Reply

