Mother’s Love Purple Flowers

Mother's Love Purple FlowersMother’s day and spring are common themes in challenges recently! Here’s another card with those themes in mind. I made this card as a response to the current challenges from Sweet Stampin’, Daring Cardmakers, CAS On Sunday, and Simon Says Stamp Monday.

I decided to use the CAS(E) This Sketch layout that I used for another card recently. Or at least, something vaguely based on it. I wasn’t happy with my previous attempt, and though that particular challenge ended already I wanted to have another go at it.

 

So, the CAS on Sunday challenge is “one layer wonder”. Pretty self-explanatory. A card with just one layer. The Daring Cardmakers’ challenge is “simply ir-resistable”, which requires using a resist technique. And the Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge is “take a leap into the unknown” which I chose to mean using a new technique. Last but not least, the Sweet Stampin’ challenge gives the mother’s day theme.

At first I really struggled with how to do the resist technique. I don’t have resist-ink, or any way to do an emboss resist technique… But then I came across this video entirely by coincidence, and figured I could give that a try!

I started by stamping my chosen sentiment on the card. This is from a new set I just got – Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus. I stamped it in black ink. Then I framed off the sentiment by drawing a line above and below. I just used a silver felt tip pen and a ruler to do that.

Next was the masking! Despite how easy the video made it look I was really worried that it wasn’t going to work… The first challenging was finding my post-it notes! With those in hand I cut them down to mask off the sentiment all the way up to the lines so that they were completely covered.

I picked three of the flower stamps from the same stamp set, and played around with positions on the card. Once I was happy with the positions I picked the stamps up on the acrylic block, and inked them up with my new ink. It’s another Distress Ink, this time in Seedless Preserves. I really like this colour.

Mother's Love Purple Flowers 2With the flowers stamped on I just had to remove the pieces of post-it note, and that was that!

This card really was simple to make, and yet turned out really well. I’m very happy with this one., and am very glad I gave it a go. The masking technique definitely helped add some depth to the picture whilst staying true to being just a single layer. It was a fun technique to use, and I expect I’ll make use of it again in future.

Love,

Lady Joyful

14 thoughts on “Mother’s Love Purple Flowers

  1. Pingback: Leap-Toadstool | The Joyful Soul Creates

  2. Pingback: Mother’s Day | The Joyful Soul Creates

  3. Pingback: Spring in Yellow | The Joyful Soul Creates

  4. Pingback: Unbelievable Birthday | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

