Purple Butterfly Wishes

Purple Butterfly WishesAnd now the second card that I promised you. It’s a bit later than I’d planned, for which I apologise. The prompts I used for this card were “feature a creature” (Mod Squad Challenge), “purple haze” (Moving Along With The Times), and to incorporate butterflies, grape (the colour) and glitter (Butterfly Spot Challenge). I also used the layout from CAS(E) This Sketch.

With butterflies being my creature I figured they should be the focal point of the card. I started by stamping all of the butterfly stamps I had using purple ink. Then I fussy cut them. I actually didn’t have a plan at that point, and decided just to keep working and see what I came up with.

In order to get the interesting shape at the bottom of the panel I decided to use my butterfly punch. I was thinking I could punch a butterfly shape out then cut away from the sides to make an interesting shape. It didn’t really work how I’d hoped…

After some thought I decided to use the punched butterfly below the cut edge to make it clear that the shape came from the butterfly. I rubbed the punched butterfly with the purple ink, and decided to sprinkle the wet ink with glitter. That again didn’t work quite how I wanted it too.

I also wanted to use glitter to make the strip across the panel. I did this by applying a layer of adhesive and sprinkling the glitter directly onto it. Somehow the line ended up tilted, despite me lining everything up and checking it twice.

I worked out the positioning for the other butterflies I wanted to add on, then decided I needed a sentiment. After realising the sentiment was just too wide to fit on the panel I came up with the idea to have it slightly going over the edges. I adhered the panel onto a piece of purple backing paper, then stamped on the sentiment in purple ink.

Purple Butterfly Wishes 2Finally I adhered the last two butterflies in place, putting dimensionals under the top wings of the middle butterfly, and then adhered the panel onto the card base.

I think this card proves that I make better cards when I plan. It seemed like one thing after another went wrong, and whilst the card turned out well enough there are several places that it could improve. The glitter looks messy. The top butterfly and sentiment could do with being positioned a bit lower.

But it’s not awful. So I suppose it’ll do!

Love,

Lady Joyful

8 thoughts on “Purple Butterfly Wishes

  1. Welcome to my butterfly challenge. Whilst your card has not turned out how you would have liked you have stuck with it and worked round the ideas that you thought hadn’t worked. Now let me tell you that your card is lovely as is. The purple butterflies are gorgeous and you have followed the sketch design. Your card will be entered twice into the draw. Thankyou for fluttering by. Hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

