Hello Birdie

Hello BirdieThis card is one I made several days ago. I’d planned to post itย at the same time as this one, but I ended up changing the challenges I was using for it and it didn’t need to be posted so soon after all.

This one also uses the Mojo Monday layout, as the last couple of cards I posted have. And as a side note here, I love how versatile this layout has turned out. This is the third card I’ve made with it, and I don’t think they look repetitive at all. That’s in part because I changed things up slightly each time – for example using ribbon instead of paper for the strip.

 

Aside from the layout the main source of inspiration for this card was Craft Rocket Challenges’ Feathers and/or Fur challenge. When I saw the challenge I immediately thought I could use my fox stamp again, or perhaps the squirrel one (which is lost somewhere in my craft cupboard… I need to have a tidy and find it!) but then I decided to do something a bit different and use the bird stamp from my Altenew Wild Hibiscus stamp set.

Actually I’m getting a bit ahead of myself here. I started by looking through my paper stash for some nice spring papers. As I mentioned a couple of days ago, I’m running out of them! I found the floral patterned paper and decided that would work nicely for the background. Whilst I’d been hunting through I found the paper with the large flowers that I’d used before, and I decided that would work nicely for the circle part of the sketch.

With the background paper chosen it was easier to decide on colours for the stamping. Initially I was going to use my red/deep pink ink for the bird. The problem with that was that the ink doesn’t want to work. I’m not sure what’s wrong with it… It turned the stamp very red, but barely makes a mark on paper. Anyway. I then decided to go for the teal ink because that seemed to nicely pick out the blues and greens in that background paper.

I wasn’t sure what to use for a sentiment, but eventually settled for “Hello You” solely because I’ve not used that one before. When I was planning the positioning I noticed that I could get it positioned so the bird’s beak was just poking between the letters, and I really liked the way that looked so I went with it.

At that point I had the fussy cut flower, background, and stamped panel ready. I realised I needed some paper for the strip and had another hunt through my stash of odds and ends. (Is this a good point to say I’m also entering the card to Pixie’s Snippets Playground?!) I found the pink and white striped paper and it seemed like a perfect fit.

Hello Birdie 2Assembling the card was a simple process, mostly using my tape runner. I stuck the fussy cut flowers on dimensionals and I really like the way it has a double purpose – in part as the circle in the sketch, but also as something of an embellishment.

I’m very pleased with how this card turned out. Some of the stamping still smudged a little, but overall it went very well.

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Hello Birdie

Leave a Reply

