Joyful Christmas Bears

Joyful Christmas BearsAnother Christmas card this evening. This is a response to Sweet ย Stampin’ Christmas’s Cute Christmas challenge, along with ABC Challenge’s C is for Cute.

I struggled a lot with this challenge because I knew I had some lovely stamps in my wishlist that would be just perfect, but I am trying to avoid buying more stamps this month. It was a bit difficult to get past the idea that I really needed stamp set X but after a few minutes of staring longingly I closed the webpage and turned to my paper stash.

I bought a couple of Christmas themed paper sets in the sales after Christmas, and it was those in particular that I looked through to try and get an idea for this card. I found a patterned paper with some cute Christmas teddies on it and decided to use those.

Having picked out the teddies I remembered the new Freshly Made Sketches challenge and thought that would be ideal to work with for this card. This is the layout they provided.

I started by fussy cutting the bears I wanted. I knew I wanted a sentiment too, but I haven’t yet got much in the way of Christmas sentiments. (Cue another moment of dreaming about my wishlist…) I did remember buying a set of wreath-style stamps, one of which was made up of a Christmas sentiment, so I used that. (Can you tell why I bought it? The wording is perfect!)

I used black ink to stamp the sentiment onto heavy white paper, then carefully cut it out. The cutting is a bit wonky but it works well enough.

For the strip down the side of the card I wanted a paper that would work well with the teddies. The red paper with white spots seemed a good choice as it matches the bigger bear’s Christmas jumper. For an extra Christmas-y touch I used my snowflake border punch (also bought in the post-Christmas sales!).

Assembly of the card was very simple. I stuck the snowflake strip onto the side of the card using my tape runner. The larger bear is also stuck with the roller adhesive. To add a bit of depth I stuck the smaller bear using dimensionals, and then added the sentiment with dimensionals too.

Joyful Christmas Bears 2Overall I’m pretty happy with the card. It meets the challenges well enough. I’m not sure how I feel about all the empty white space. I think I do lean towards CAS cards in style, but that much white… It makes me feel like there’s something missing, but at the same time I feel the card has everything it needs. That doesn’t make much sense!

Love,

Lady Joyful

11 thoughts on “Joyful Christmas Bears

Leave a Reply

