This-And-That Christmas Tree

This-And-That Christmas TreeAs promised, here’s my second card for today. And it’s a Christmas card! I made this card as a response to Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge and Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge Extra.

The idea for this card is one I had a while ago. I have a few different snowflake stamps, and I had the idea to use them to make a Christmas tree. I started by drawing a guide triangle so that I would know where to stamp to get the shape I wanted. (That was possibly a mistake because it was impossible to erase the lines…) Then I inked up my snowflakes in green and got stamping. I tried to keep it a bit wild and random. It actually ended up nothing like what I’d imagined doing, but I think it works!

The garlands/tinsel came next. The stamp I used for them comes from my new Lawn Fawn Lovable Legends set, and is actually waves. I thought it worked well for decorating the tree though. I used my Seedless Preserves Distress ink for this.

The ‘star’ at the top of the tree is a shape (sunshine?) from My Mind’s Eye – My Girl set. I used Spiced Marmalade Distress ink for that.

The tree trunk (or stand or pot, if you prefer) was a bit trickier. After some thinking I remembered my Prima Sunrise Sunset stamp. I inked up one corner/block of that with my Memento Tuxedo Black ink (don’t have a suitable brown) and stamped it on. Off-centre… Whoops!

Finally the sentiment. I made this using my new Lawn Fawn Jessie’s ABCs letter set. I love this font, it’s so pretty! And it’s great to be able to assemble my own sentiment. There are only two small “r” stamps so I had to move things around to get both words stamped (as I needed three!) Also I think I should have left a larger space between the two words. But other than that…

This-And-That Christmas Tree 2I’m pleased with how this card turned out. The idea was really interesting to me. When I started putting the card together I was a bit disappointed (the tree didn’t seem to be working initially) but then working past that and completing the card, well… It actually came together pretty well!

Love,

Lady Joyful

2 thoughts on “This-And-That Christmas Tree

Leave a Reply

