Dancing Narwhal

Dancing NarwhalMy second card of the day is a response to four challenges. (Originally there were two others involved too, but I ended up changing direction slightly and they no longer fit.) The theme of the card comes from Moving Along With The Times‘ Come Dancing challenge, and Allsorts challenge blog‘s April Fool/humorous challenge. I’m also including The ABC Challenge‘s “E is for Everything” (a.k.a. anything goes) and Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper challenge.

My first task was locating a stamp to use. I didn’t have a suitable physical one so I started looking for digis. I came across the narwhal image and couldn’t resist it! (The site has a lot of other awesome freebie digis, and I’ve no doubt I’ll be using others in future.) It was actually finding theย narwhal that made me decide to tie in the humorous challenge – I thought it was amusing!

I coloured the narwhal digitally. I went semi-realistic but then decided to make the horn rainbow coloured because, well, it’s a partying narwhal! I then printed out the image and fussy cut it.

For the background I layered translucent, blue-striped origami paper over a piece of blue card to make a subtle pattern. They didn’t stick together very well unfortunately, and the glue showed through a bit…

I decided I wanted the sentiment to really stand out, so I made a large panel of white card for its background. I used my Lawn Fawn Jessie’s ABCs stamps to make the sentiment. I figured it was a good wording choice considering the theme of the card, and it seemed to suit the image too.

I trimmed the sentiment panel then stuck it in place onto my backing panel. I then positioned and adhered the narwhal image on/beside the panel. I considered stopping at that point but wasn’t entirely happy with the card. Instead I decided to add on a piece of ribbon. Added bonus was that it helped cover an area where the glue was showing through.

Dancing Narwhal 2I quite like how this card turned out, if we ignore the issues with the glue not taking properly. I think it is cute and amusing. I have no idea who I would send it to though!

Love,

Lady Joyful

12 thoughts on “Dancing Narwhal

Leave a Reply

