Unbelievable Birthday

Unbelievable BirthdayI have a fairly simple birthday card for you. It’s a response to three challenges – Mojo Monday‘s sketch challenge, Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s Happy Birthday prompt, and Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper challenge.

I made this card from the top down. I started with the circle to top the card. I decided to go with a simple sentiment in the circle. Initially I stamped my newest “thank you” stamp, and then I remembered that I’m making a birthday card. Whoops. So I turned the circle over, and instead stamped “Have an unbelievable birthday!” from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends set. I used Memento Tuxedo Black for stamping the sentiment, and again for adding the stars from the same stamp set.

Next I picked out patterned paper for the rectangle behind the circle. I decided to go for stars because I had a snippet of it left that was almost the perfect size, and it nicely picks out the stars on the sentiment.

Choosing the paper for the larger rectangle was more difficult. I had a hard time finding something that seemed to work with the other elements. Eventually I settled for the lightly textured blue colour. It was slightly too big so I cut the edge off, and ended up flipping that leftover scrap over and using it as the long narrow rectangle.

I debated whether to add another paper behind these, on top of the card base. Eventually I decided against it solely because of the difficulty I’d had in finding papers that would work well together. So at that point it was just a case of adhering everything down.

Unbelievable Birthday 2

I’ll be honest, I find this card a bit boring. It’s not bad, and I don’t dislike it, it just seems quite plain. Making it definitely reiterated that I need some other way to cut circles than by hand, and that I really could use more colours of decent inks. (The only non-generic inks I have are the black Memento ink, and a purple and an orange which are both Distress inks.)

Love,

Lady Joyful

5 thoughts on “Unbelievable Birthday

  1. Pingback: Pink and Girly | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

