Bright Birthday

Bright BirthdayThis colourful birthday card is a response to The Sisterhood of Crafters‘ photo inspiration challenge combined with the sketch challenge from Always Playing With Paper. I also added in the Mod Squad‘s challenge to show your background, Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s Happy Birthday challenge, and Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper.

I’ll be honest, looking at the finished card and comparing it to the inspiration image I find it hard to see the two being connected… But the choices I made when creating the card were strongly influenced by the image. I picked up on the geometric pattern of the cushion along with the pink shades of the chair, and used them in making my background panel. I also picked up on the blue and transparent of the basket behind the chair which I reflected in the blue striped strip. Finally is that black and white geometric pattern in the corner, which influenced the three squares I added.

As I just explained, I decided to use the geometric pattern and pink shade to create my own background. (That’s how I interpreted the Mod Squad challenge – to create your own background.) I used my Prima Sunrise Sunset stamp with a pink-purple ink and just stamped it repeatedly over the paper to cover it completely.

For the middle panel I cut a white piece of card, then began searching for a paper to use as the strip over it. I knew I wanted to tie in that blue of the basket but didn’t seem to have anything that would work. Then I found the origami paper packets I have and noticed a really nice one with an almost wood affect to it. Except when I opened the packet and looked inside, well, turned out the colours shown on the outside where very inaccurate and the supposedly bright blue sheet was actually a murky blue-green. Luckily I then found the paper I used in another origami paper packet. It’s blue and transparent, which seemed like a good choice to represent the woven look of the basket.

After adhering the blue paper to the white I stamped my sentiment. I went for a very simple “Happy Birthday” using Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I then started thinking about what to do for the topping images/embellishments. Looking back at the photo for ideas I spotted the black and white column(?) in the back corner and decided to use that. It seemed to make sense to use the same stamp again, but this time in the Memento ink. I then used my craft knife to cut out three of the squares and stuck those onto the blue strip. Then it was just a case of putting the card together.

Bright Birthday 2

I’m relatively happy with how this turned out. I think it came together pretty well, though some of the stamping didn’t take very well – the stamp I used for the sentiment often gives me trouble, which is why I tend to avoid using it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

14 thoughts on “Bright Birthday

Leave a Reply

