Birthday Bloom

Birthday BloomToday’s floral birthday card was inspired by both the photo and sketch provided in Fusion’s Card Challenge. I tied in CASology‘s challenge for which the cue is “sprout” – I consider the flower sprouting on the card to meet this – as well as Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s Happy Birthday challenge, and A Bit More Time to Craft‘s Anything Goes challenge.

I started by making the oval for the card. That was difficult as I had to hand cut it… Took me a while to be satisfied with it, and even then I’m not happy with it… But anyway. I used white card for the oval. I wanted it to have a feature sentiment and ended up building one using my Lawn Fawn Jessie’s ABCs letter set. The stamping went a bit wrong on first attempt so I flipped the oval and redid it. Only problem was the ink showed through slightly. Not wanting to have to attempt to cut out another oval I solved the problem by backing the card onto black paper and then following the line of the white oval to make it the right shape.

Next I made my embellishment. I used a flower stamp from my Altenew Wild Hibiscus set. A flower seemed an obvious choice given the image and the “sprout” cue. I used purple ink – Distress ink in Seedless Preserves – as it’s one of the few good inks I have. (Still managed to smudge it though!) Then for the strip of paper I went for a pearlised pink. It seemed an appropriate colour to use to tie in more of the flowers in the provided image.

And that was all! As you can see I actually flipped the sketch around to make my card. Given the sizings I was working with I felt it worked better that way.

Birthday Bloom 2I’m relatively happy with how it turned out. The wording of the sentiment still isn’t quite as well aligned as I would have liked, and I really wish I had some way of cutting ovals (and circles, etc.) more neatly. But given what I was working with I think I did a good job!

Love,

Lady Joyful

P.S., I found out today that one of my cards got picked as A Cut Above by The Paper Players! I’m very excited about this – it’s the first time I’ve got any “official” recognition for one of my cards since I started making them at the beginning of the year. You can see the card in question over here.

6 thoughts on “Birthday Bloom

Leave a Reply

