Sunrise Sunset Birthday Diamond

Sunrise Sunset Birthday DiamondThis card was meant to be quick and simple to make. And in theory it was. In practice I kept messing up the stamping and having to start over. It was frustrating!

 

IΒ made this as a response to Less is More‘s one layer “geometric or patterns” prompt, and am also entering it to AAA cards‘ anything goes challenge.

I used my Prima Sunrise Sunset stamp for the pattern. I decided to do half orange and half purple, partly because those are my good inks! After working out where I wanted to stamp I masked off a line ready for where the sentiment would go. I then inked up my stamp with my Distress inks in Spiced Marmalade and Seedless Preserves, and stamped down over the mask.Β I then removed the mask and stamped down the sentiment, which is from Avery Elle’s Petal Panel.

Sunrise Sunset Birthday Diamond 2And then it was finished! Like I said, really simple. I did have problems with the stamping. On my first attempt the purple didn’t take properly. On the next one I stamped the sentiment first, then masked over it which made it smudge. The third attempt I reused the mask I’d made, which had picked up ink from the previous attempt, and smudged the card… Fourth time lucky! Actually even this one didn’t work out as well as I would have liked. I should have made the mask longer as the end corners of the diamond show past it slightly. And the sentiment smudged a little.

But with that said, I’m pretty happy with how it turned out and I would be happy to make similar cards in future.

Love,

Lady Joyful

14 thoughts on “Sunrise Sunset Birthday Diamond

  1. Sounds like you had fun along the way in making this card, but maybe a few lessons were learned. The end result was worth it though!
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Just Saying Hello | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

