Oriental Screen Card

Oriental Screen CardEarlier today I sat down to make a card primarily as a response to Daring Cardmakers‘ oriental themed challenge, with One Crazy Stamper‘s anything goes and Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper thrown in for good measure.

 

I really was not sure where to start. I have no stamps that strike me as fitting the oriental theme. I turned to Pinterest and started looking at oriental cards. A style that kept coming up was the oriental screen, so I decided to give that a go.

I started by choosing the paper for my panels. I went through all my patterned paper and picked out any that seemed even vaguely fitting to the theme. I then got my husband to help me narrow it down.

Next I wanted to cut the area from the bottom of the card base. I made a template for the shape by copying the curves from part of the patterned paper. I then used my scissors to cut it out. It’s a bit messy if you look very closely, but worked well enough.

Then I cut the panels for the screen. I made sure to cut the length such that it wasn’t cut off part way through a pattern as I felt it looked more realistic that way. I decided I wanted to add some butterflies, so I punched a couple from matching paper. Unfortunately the two patterns together looked far too busy, but the paper was double-sided so I was able to flip them over and use the other side instead.

Finally I decided to add a simple sentiment, which I stuck on using dimensionals.

Oriental Screen Card 2I’m pretty happy with how the card turned out, especially considering I’d had no idea where to start. The card works nicely for the given theme. It might have been better on a different colour card base though. I’m happy to have finally found a use for this patterned paper. It’s really pretty and I’ve wanted to use it for quite a while!

Love,

Lady Joyful

2 thoughts on “Oriental Screen Card

Leave a Reply

