Dotty Day

Dotty DayThis is a quick and simple – and very dotty! – card I threw together today. The layout comes from My Favorite Things‘ sketch challenge. The dotty theme comes both from Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s Let’s Do The Polka challenge, and Alphabet Challenge Blogs D is for Dots. With the patterned paper involved I couldn’t not include Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper challenge! And for good measure, I included the anything goes challenges from One Crazy Stamper and A Bit More Time To Craft.

I started by picking out my polka dot papers. I found the paler one first that I wanted to use for the background, and then came across the darker blue one that seemed perfect for the strip across. I cut both papers down to size, then hunted for something to make the sentiment.

I was hoping to use a coordinating pale blue paper but didn’t have anything suitable, so went for a strip of white instead. I mixed-and-matched the sentiment, with the “unbelievable” coming from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends, and the rest of the sentiment coming from Altenew’s Halftone Happy.

I did try to cutting the sentiment panel to a banner shape but it didn’t look right, so I trimmed it down to an exact fit instead.

Finally it was just a case of adhering all the layers together. The darker strip ended up a little wonky… I put the sentiment on foam tape to add a bit of depth.

Dotty Day 2I’m pretty happy with how this turned out. I really didn’t expect to have two polka dot papers that worked so well together so was very excited to find them! And I think the sentiment works nicely. I was trying to come up with some sentiment to fit the dot theme, but I couldn’t come up with anything. I blame the fog of illness that’s still clouding my brain!

Love,

Lady Joyful

12 thoughts on “Dotty Day

  1. I like the “mix and match” sentiment and the polka dot papers are a great match. Thank you for joining our challenge at One Crazy Stamper

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

