Rock Legend

Rock LegendHere’s another card made with Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends set. I adore this stamp set! It’s so much fun.

The theme for this card came from Inkspirational‘s word prompt which is rock. I interpreted this in two senses  – literal rocks/stones, and “you rock!” (a.k.a. you’re a legend.) The stone patterned paper of course allows me to tie in Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned PaperLess is More requested the use of three stamps. My three were the yeti, sentiment, and footprints. And I again used the sketch from retrosketches. Oh and I decided to include Pixie’s Snippets Playground too!

I started by cutting the rock/stone patterned paper down to size. The moment I saw the word prompt I knew I was going to use that paper so it was a logical starting point!

Next I started to think about the image panel. I was initially thinking of using just white card, but I spotted the kraft one and decided it would work better with the overall colour scheme.

I did stamp the yeti/Big Foot (I suppose it’s Big Foot, as he’s not snowy!) onto a scrap of white card. I fussy cut him and bemoaned my lack of die cutting machine! I’ll definitely be getting the coordinating die set for these stamps once I have one.

I wanted to use the paper piecing technique I learned recently, so I stamped the big foot again, this time onto an orange-brown patterned paper. I again fussy cut him, though this time I kept closer to the black lines. I cut just his fur from the patterned paper, making almost like a jacket or coat. I decided to leave the rest of him white, so went ahead and stuck the two layers together.

I stamped the sentiment straight onto the image panel with Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I then used the same ink to stamp the footprints up the side of the panel. One of the footprints didn’t take properly but I don’t think it matters.

The final component was the string. I used black and white twine and wrapped it around the image panel several times, taping it in place on the back. I decided to forgo a bow as it didn’t seem to fit the card.

Rock Legend 2Finally it was just a case of sticking everything together. When I previously used this sketch I went for a very flat card, so I decided to add a bit more volume this time. I adhered the whole image panel to the card base using foam tape to raise it up, then added more volume still by using even more foam tape to adhere the Big Foot.

I’m really happy with how this card turned out. The colours of the card work really well together, Big Foot is cute, and the whole thing just looks really cohesive. Plus (if you ignore the one footprint…) the stamping turned out really well!

Love,

Lady Joyful

18 thoughts on “Rock Legend

  1. Your interpretations of “rock” are fabulous…from the sentiment, to the fist-pumping Yeti (seriously cute!) to the background! So. Much. Fun.! Dare I say, “You’re card rocks!”? Yes…I dare…and it sure does! So glad you shared this gem in the Inkspiration gallery!
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

