Photo-A-Day: May 21st

May 21st 2016This isn’t actually the photo I had planned to post for today’s Photo-A-Day. But then when I took the dog on his evening walk I saw this little guy snuffling in the grass up ahead, well, I couldn’t resist. Of course I first cursed myself for not remembering to take my camera with me on the walk(!) Luckily I remembered that, duh, my phone has a camera. So I temporarily tied dog onto a nearby post so that he couldn’t scare the hedgehog, and I started snapping pictures.

Digital zoom is, of course, a pain and usually results in terrible, pixelly images. I did take one with digital zoom, then went back to normal zoom level and just took pictures as I gradually got closer to the little critter in an attempt to get the best picture I could. I made sure to move slowly and carefully, and tried to make myself as non-threatening as possible. I am much bigger than he was though! For most of the ‘photo shoot’ he kept snuffling and sniffing around in the grass, but when I took this last picture he realised I was there and became very still. I backed off after I got this one, collected the dog and kept a wide berth as we continued our walk. I did look back when we were a bit further away and I could just make him out in the distance moving around in the grass again. Guess I didn’t scare him too much!

When I got home and showed the pictures to husband he was very disappointed at having missed out on seeing the little cutie!

Love,

Lady Joyful

4 thoughts on “Photo-A-Day: May 21st

    • I think you’re right! At first, and from a distance, I wasn’t sure if it was a hedgehog or something else. Of course when I could clearly see his spikes I knew it must be 🙂 I’m very happy that the picture came out so well with my phone. And maybe this will be a good reminder to make sure I take the camera with me in future!

      Like

    • He sure was a cutie! I think the ones we had in our garden once (back in England) were bigger and darker too. Maybe these Finnish ones are different. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

