Cool Cones

Cool ConesEarlier today I posted a Winter themed card, and now I have a summer one for you. I made it as a response to three challenges – CAS(E) This Sketch provided the layout, whilst the theme of Summer came from Pink and Main Challenges. I’m also including the anything goes challenge from One Crazy Stamper.

I started by looking through my stamps to find what I have that suits the summer theme. I actually don’t have a huge amount of choice as my stamp collection is still on the small side. The ice cream stamp from My Mind’s Eye My Girl stamp set seemed ideal, so I went for that.

As my selection of inks is even less impressive than my stamps I decided I would get the colours by stamping onto patterned papers. For the cones I used my Distress Ink in Spiced Marmalade onto kraft paper. Then I chose five different patterned papers for the ice cream – two in shades of greeny blue and three in pinkish red.

Having stamped and fussy cut all the components I laid them out on the card base to work out the positioning before sticking them in place using my tape runner.

Some of the stamping hadn’t worked as well as I would like (not the easiest stamp to mask) so I wanted to make sure my sentiment would cover the worst parts. I thought I had a stamp with a summer sentiment but apparently not, so I made one with letters from Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs. I stamped the sentiment onto a piece of white card which I cut to a banner shape. I then used foam tape to adhere the sentiment to the front of the card.

Cool Cones 2I’m pretty happy with how the card turned out. I think it meets the brief nicely, especially considering the limited resources I had to work with.

Love,

Lady Joyful

15 thoughts on “Cool Cones

  1. Pingback: What’s Kraken? | The Joyful Soul Creates

  2. Pingback: Summer Holidays | The Joyful Soul Creates

  3. Pingback: Cool Lollies | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

