What’s Kraken?

What's Kraken?I had a lot of fun making today’s card. It’s a response to five challenges. The challenge from 4 Crafty Chicks was to make a masculine card, which ties in well with the Sweet Stampin’ challenge to make a card for a man. Cupcake Inspirations provided an inspiration image of some fabulous ocean themed cupcakes. The layout comes from Mojo Monday. I’m also entering the card into Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper challenge.

My starting point was, of course, the inspiration image. I love the pearlised blue colour and seeing it instantly prompted me to include a piece of my pearlised blue card. I also jumped at the chance, after seeing the star fish and sea shells, to include the gorgeous patterned paper. I’ve had it for quite some time now but never had anything that seemed right to use for it, so it was really nice to have the opportunity.

I cut the patterned paper to fit as the smaller panel in the layout. Layering it against the pearlised blue I realised there was something missing and decided I would need to mat it. Looking through my papers for a suitable mat I picked out a few colour options. The yellow seemed to be too much of a contrast. The two blues didn’t contrast enough. Then I tried a couple of different browns and decided the paler one worked nicely, so I cut that to fit.

For the circle I ended up cutting a piece of blue vellum and layering it over a circle of the same pearlised blue card that I’d used for the backing panel. I then cut the banner part from the same brown as the mat.

At this point I had to pause and work out what I wanted to do next. Initially I was thinking of fussy cutting an ice cream to layer over the banner, but I decided against that. Instead I decided to use the banner for the sentiment. As I looked through my stamps to work out what sentiment to use I spotted the Lovable Legends set from Lawn Fawn and decided it would be a lot of fun to include the kraken and his matching sentiment.

I stamped the sentiment in Tuxedo Black Memento Ink onto the banner (which I had to recut as I’d made it a smidge too small.) I then stamped the kraken, using them same ink, onto a scrap of white paper.

I then coloured the kraken using some pastel pencils (side note: I’ve already requested a set of copic markers for my birthday, which isn’t until October!). I decided that shades of orange would work well with the colours of the card. I started by colouring the highlight areas in pale tan, then added in orange of the majority of his body. I blended the two colours together (using a quickly made blending tool as I realised I didn’t have one) then added red into the darker areas. I kept layering up, switching to yellow for brighter highlights, until I was happy with the effect. I think it looks pretty good!

What's Kraken? 2Then it was just a case of assembly. I adhered the panels together with my tape runner, adding the circle and banner in the same way. The vellum of the circle was adhered to the base of the circle with a spot of Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue. At that point I used my tape runner to adhere the panel to the card base. Finally I adhered the adorable kraken using dimensionals to make him pop.

I really love this card. I think it’s super cute, and I’m happy that it meets the requirements of all the challenges. Admittedly it’s not super overtly masculine, but it has a lot of stereotypically masculine colours and lines. I think it’ll do!

Love,

Lady Joyful

22 thoughts on “What’s Kraken?

  1. The card’s cute…more feminine than masculine, in my view, but, what the heck, there are feminine men out there! LOL. But, what’s a Kraken?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Birthday in Browns | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

