Magical Anniversary

Magical AnniversaryFor the most part the cards I make are inspired by challenges. This card was almost the other way around. When looking through my craft cupboard for some paper a couple of days ago I found a few envelopes and card bases where I’d written ideas for cards to make. This was one of them. After I’d made it I figured I’d check my list of challenges and see if I could use this for any of them.Β I ended up deciding to enter it to three challenges: ABC Challenge‘s I is for Important; Inkspirational‘s Text prompt; and Pixie’s Snippets Playground.

 

I started by inking up two basic wreath / ring stamps, one large and one small, with silver ink and stamping them randomly onto the white card. At first I wasn’t sure it was going to work. It didn’t look right. So I kept adding, thinking I couldn’t make it any worse. Thankfully once I’d got enough on it started looking pretty good. At least, I thought so!

Next I added the ribbons – a wide, sheer white ribbon first, then the narrow silver and finally the white bow on top.

I wanted to add a sentiment so I started looking through my stamps for something suitable. The “magical” from the Be A Unicorn stamp set from Avery Elle seemed like it would fit well. I combined it with “wishing you a” and “anniversary” from the Altenew Halftone Happy set. When I’d stamped “magical” I hadn’t quite masked it properly so it left a bit of smudginess either side, which I tried to cover with the other words.

I realised that the white card didn’t look right directly against my stamped background. I decided to mat it onto a piece of silver mirrored cardboard. I then mounted the sentiment panel onto the card using foam tape to raise it up.

Magical Anniversary 2I’m pretty happy with how this card turned out, aside from the masking mishap. The colour scheme works well, and the sentiment fits it nicely. I like the layout too. I think maybe I’ve used a similar layout before. Certainly something prompted me to do it that way!

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Magical Anniversary

Leave a Reply

