Layered Up

Layered UpThe last card I posted was a masculine card, this one definitely seems more feminine! It is a response to three challenges. The layout comes from Freshly Made Sketches with colours inspired by Color Throwdown. The only other challenge I included for this card was the birthday challenge from DRS Designs.

Like with the other card I posted today I felt that this was a good opportunity to let patterned papers take centre stage. That was also helpful in achieving the required colours, as I only have a very limited range of inks and wouldn’t have been able to achieve the colours with those alone.

I started by looking through my paper stash to find something that would work. I had lots of different pinks, but the chevron paper was the only thing I found that seemed to work for peach. For the purple I used the same paper as I’d used on my watercolour card yesterday. For the raspberry pink I found another patterned paper that seemed like it would work well. And the white came from the card base.

After deciding on the order for the papers I cut each down to the appropriate size and shape for the strips that I required. I then decided that actually I wanted some matting too, so I cut a mat layer of purple and then another layer of white to go on top of that. I then had to slightly trim the longest strip as it would have otherwise been too long once the matting was added to the card.

I decided to add a simple stamped sentiment to the smallest panel on the card. The sentiment I chose is from Avery Elle’s Be A Unicorn, and I stamped it in Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I also added a group of stars using a couple more stamps from the same set.

Then it was just a case of assembly. All the layers were adhered with my tape runner except for the final square which I raised up using foam tape.

Layered Up 2I like how this card turned out. The colours work well together and the layout was fun. I think this could be a very good way to use up scraps and snippets of paper, and has a lot of versatility and potential.

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Layered Up

Leave a Reply

