Holiday Caravan

Holiday CaravanThis card is a response to six different challenges. The main inspiration came from 4 Crafty Chicks‘ vacation prompt with the layout coming from CAS(E) This Sketch. Of course I had to include Alphabet Challenge Blog‘s H for Hand Coloured Image. Using snippets let me include the challenge at Pixie’s Snippets Playground. And the last two are anything goes challenges from A Bit More Time to Craft and One Crazy Stamper.

I knew immediately that I wanted to use the caravan stamp from Avery Elle’s Home Sweet Home. I stamped that on a white panel that I’d measured and cut to the appropriate size. I then added sprigs of grass from Avery Elle’s Hogs and Kisses and clouds from Avery Elle’s Pixie Dust. I realised after stamping that I should have masked off one of the clouds to make the overlap work properly but… I derped there. I guess that’s what happens when I make cards in the evening!

Next I coloured the image in. I again used my pastel pencils to colour the image. It got a bit messier than I had intended but I think it works. I coloured the grass and sky too, and I think it makes a very peaceful image overall.

With that done I wanted a piece of paper to mount the image panel onto. I found a snippet of pale blue-grey paper that was almost the perfect size, only requiring the edges to be trimmed off slightly. I then found a snippet of green paper to use for the sentiment. I initially wasn’t sure what sentiment to use but then found “the world needs more” and “holidays” from the Altenew Halftone Happy set and decided that would work well given the theme.

The final touch was another little caravan which I fussy cut from a snippet of patterned paper.

Assembly was pretty straight forward. I used my tape runner to adhere the image to the blue backing panel, and that to the card base. I also used the tape runner to adhere the fussy cut caravan to the sentiment strip. I then used foam tape to attach the sentiment strip to the front of the card. Of course I managed to stick it on wonky but… yeah. That happens sometimes.

Holiday Caravan 2I’m pretty happy with how this card turned out. It works well for the theme and the layout was fun to use. The colouring is a bit messier than I would prefer but I think that was an issue of the medium more than anything else.

Love,

Lady Joyful

9 thoughts on “Holiday Caravan

Leave a Reply

