Celebratory Butterflies

Celebratory ButterfliesI was meant to make two cards today but I ran out of energy. As a result I only have this one for you, and I’m not even that happy with it. Sigh. Well, sometimes days go like that!

I made this card in response to four challenges. The butterfly theme comes from both CAS on Sunday and Butterfly Spot Challenge. The latter also requested oval and olive. Sweet Stampin’ asked for a shaped card, whilst CASology wants congratulations.

I began by hunting for a shape to use as a template for cutting a shaped cardbase. I was thinking it could be fun to make a butterfly, but then I remembered I needed to incorporate oval and figured maybe the card should be oval then!

Next I started looking for some olive paper to use. And then got frustrated because I couldn’t find any… Oh dear. I eventually found the one I used which is kinda arguably olive. Right? Sigh again.

I cut that to fit and attached it with Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue. Using the liquid glue meant I could easily slide it into place and make sure it matched up nicely.

The paper I stamped the sentiment on is actually just the reverse side of the patterned paper. I figured it coordinates well and is plain enough to work, so why not! The sentiment comes from Altenew’s Super Script. I stamped it with Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I had to stamp it twice because part didn’t take properly, and even then it’s still a bit splotchy in places… I’ve had that happen a few times with this stamp set now which is sad because I love it! I’m not sure if the problem is with me or the stamp though… Hopefully once I have my MISTI it won’t be a problem any more!

Anyway, back on topic. I needed some butterflies. I decided I would make some with my craft punch, and use some metallic golden paper as that would go well with the colours I’d used so far whilst also adding a bit more shine and interest to the card.

Finally I just stuck the whole thing together. Tape roller for the sentiment panel, and the liquid glue again for the butterflies. I bent up the wings on the butterflies slightly for a bit of dimension.

Celebratory Butterflies 2This card… Well. It’s a card. It’s not terrible, but I don’t love it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Celebratory Butterflies

  1. Sometimes I think we are our own worst critic. I made a card yesterday or at least I attempted to colour an image in and had 5 goes using different cardstock and markers. I hated all of the them. The first 2 got torn up and put in the bin the third I discarded. The fourth just plain awful colours and the 5th ok ish. Left them to dry and then decided that no 3 wasn’t that bad after all and have now made it into a card. I love your metallic gold butterflies. with your stamping it could be the inkpad that your using is not compatable with the stamp. I don’t have any Altenew stamps to suggest one for you. Thankyou for fluttering by my challenge. Hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi ,
    what a very lovely shaped card, and those metallic butterflies are very beautiful.
    Thank you for joining the Butterfly Challenge with this.
    Lots of crafty love. Jenny L. GD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

