Flowery Hello

Flowery HelloThis card took me a surprising amount of time to make considering how simple it is! It’s a response to just three challenges – the inspiration card from Muse combined with the layout by Freshly Made Sketches, and Dragonfly Dreams‘ Say It With Flowers thrown in for good measure.

As soon as I saw the inspiration card I knew I wanted to use two of the flowers from my Altenew Wild Hibiscus stamp set, and watercolour them with my Distress Inks. Conveniently enough the only two distress inks I have were the ideal colours – Seedless Preserves and Spiced Marmalade. Perfect given the colours in the inspiration card!

I began by stamping my chosen flowers onto a piece of leftover heavy white paper using Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I then smooshed (technical term there) the orange ink onto my acrylic pad and added a little water to make a paintable consistency. I started with the thicker of my two brushes (which is still quite thin!)Β but did end up switching to the thinner one. Once the first flower was painted I used the same technique to paint the second one, this time with the purple ink.

Setting the flowers aside to dry I dug out my sentiment. Once again it is one from Altenew’s Super Script. I really love the font of these stamps and have been getting a lot of use from them since I gotΒ them! I stamped the sentiment using the same black ink I’d used to stamp the outlines of the flowers. I took the advice of a lovely lady who commented on my post yesterday and managed to get the stamp to work completely first time. Yay! (The advice was to use a mouse mat as a stamping surface, to have a little give. My mouse mat is not a normal one and husband was using his at the time, but I found a pad of large post it notes and tried that as an alternative which worked well enough.)

Then I began fussy cutting. That was the really time-consuming part of the process. I am longing for the day that I get a die cutting machine! At the moment though it looks like the earliest I’ll get one is December, and that’s only if I don’t keep spending all my fun money on stamps! But I digress. I fussy cut the sentiment first to give the flowers a bit more time to fully dry and then fussy cut those. I left a small white border to be indicative of the white embossed lines on the flowers on the inspiration card.

Before I began working on the final positioning of the flowers and sentiment I decided I wanted to mat the card. I chose a light blue as I spotted the little blue flower on the inspiration card. I cut a panel of the light blue and a slightly smaller panel of white to go over it. I then worked out the positioning of all the components and started assembling the card.

The white panel was adhered to the blue mat using my tape runner, which I also used to adhere the whole thing to the card base. I again used the tape runner to stick the yellow flower in place. In order to add some dimension I used foam squares for the purple flower. I also used foam squares for the sentiment, with a small amount of tape from the tape runner to stick the flourish of the “o” onto the purple flower.

Flowery Hello 2I really like this card! It’s very clean, simple, and just really pretty. It’s far from perfect, and there are definitely things I would do differently if I could. Die cutting instead of fussy cutting, for example. And I would have embossed the sentiment and perhaps even the outlines of the flowers if I had the equipment to do so. But given what I was working with… Yeah, I’m happy!

Love,

Lady Joyful

18 thoughts on “Flowery Hello

Leave a Reply

