Beachy Holiday

Beachy HolidayAt last, the third and final card of the day. (But who’s counting, right…?) Four challenges went into the creation of this card. The layout comes from The Paper Players. DRS Designs asked for a beach theme whilst Daring Cardmakers requested a holiday. The Sisterhood of Crafters gave the challenge of creating your own background.

I started by finding a digi stamp to use for the focal point of the layout. I actually found this one when I was looking for the stamp for yesterday’s card. It again comes from Dearie Dolls Digis and I thought it was perfect for this card. I digitally coloured it, then printed it out and fussy cut it.

For the main strip I used a patterned paper which has a very beachy, sea-side vibe. I had picked that out before I coloured the stamp which enabled me to try to base my colours around the patterned paper.

Finally for the backing panel I found a bit of yellow card which I cut to size. I then daubed the edges of it using a make up sponge and Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink. I wasn’t sure if it would work, but it actually turned out very well and I think looks very sandy.

Finally I just had to assemble the card which I did by using my tape runner to adhere the patterned paper to the sandy panel, and it to the card base. I then used foam squares to adhere the little crab stamp with a bit of volume.

Beachy Holiday 2I’m happy with this card. I think the theme comes across really well. The colours on the stamp didn’t work as well as I would have liked – I should have made them a bit lighter. I think it also came out a bit pixelly looking… Overall though I am really happy with the results!

Love,

Lady Joyful

21 thoughts on “Beachy Holiday

      1. I realised after I’d finished making it just how sandy looking the background turned out. A happy accident, that! 😀 (I’m looking forward to sunshine and holidays!)

        Like

      2. I’ve always loved art, but struggled with it a bit. I remember my GCSE art teacher telling me she didn’t think I’d pass my exam (and then being surprised when I asked to leave the room for a few minutes because I was upset…) It’s nice to have found an arty thing to do that I can actually do!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s REALLY horrible! Especially when a kid loves the subject…whatever happened to constructive criticism and positive encouragement!! I mess about with a bit of sketching, generally the cats, as they’re the only models that stay still long enough!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

