Polka Dot Anniversary

Polka Dot AnniversaryThe second card I’m sharing with you today (and I’m not sure what my camera did to that first photo, sorry about that!) is a response to five challenges. The layout comes from CAS(E) This SketchΒ with the overall look of the card coming from Inspired By All The Little Things‘ photo prompt. The anniversary theme comes from both Cute Card Thursday and Craft Rocket Challenges. And I decided to include Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper again too!

My first step was to chose my point of inspiration from the provided image. I decided to pick up the blue, pink, polka dots and flowers. I made myself a card base using pearlised pink cardboard which I cut and folded to have a top fold. I then hunted down some blue polka dot paper (the first picture doesn’t show the colour very well!) and used that to make the main panel.

For the focal point I used one of the flowers from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus. I stamped it onto a scrap of white card using Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I then water coloured it with a light wash of Spiced Marmalade Distress inks, resulting in a soft yellow flower. Once the flower was completely dry I fussy cut it.

I wanted to include a sentiment strip so I took another strip of white card to stamp my sentiment on. I made the “happy” using Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs stamp, with the “anniversary” coming from Altenew’s Halftone Happy. I used the same black ink to stamp the sentiment. I then attached the flower to the sentiment strip, cutting the strip away from behind the flower so it appears as if it is coming out of the flower.

Finally I just had to assemble my card. I used tape runner to adhere the polka dot paper to the pink card base. I used it again to adhere the flower to the sentiment strip, then used foam tape to adhere the flower-sentiment combination onto the card base. I managed to smudge the sentiment in the process which was annoying…

Polka Dot Anniversary 2I like how the card turned out. It is very simple but I think still has the potential to be striking. Actually considering I had three cards to make this evening I am very thankful for the simplicity!

Love,

Lady Joyful

28 thoughts on “Polka Dot Anniversary

Leave a Reply

