Sparkle!

Sparkle!This is the first of three cards today. Yes, three. Actually this is the only one that I had planned for today, but I need to post tomorrow’s cards today as I won’t be home tomorrow!

Six challenges went into the making of this card. The layout comes from My Favorite Things. TCP Tuesday asked for red, white, blue and a touch of sparkle. Mod Squad and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday both also asked for shimmer or glitter whilst Sweet Stampin’ asked for stars. And finally, I of course had to include Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge.

My first point of action was picking out the patterned papers. I knew I had a few different ones that would be suitable. The blue star patterned paper did seem pretty perfect given the prompts I was working with! I also decided at this point to fold my own card base seeing as I’m pretty much out of the pre-made ones. (Had some trouble with the cutting and folding – my paper-cutter is having issues! It’s a generic one. I’m thinking of investing in a Fiskars one…)

I went for red card to make the card base, then cut the red and white patterned paper for the main panel. I drew around a biscuit cutter on the star patterned paper and then cut around it to make the focal shape. I then stuck that on a piece of metallic blue card and cut around again to leave a small border of the reflective blue. Obviously that process would have been far quicker if I’d had a die cutter… Anyone want to buy me one?! (I’m joking – mostly.)

I decided to use red and white string for the lower strip from the sketch and then had to think about what to do for the larger strip. I eventually decided on a simple strip of white which I could stamp the sentiment onto. The sentiment comes from Avery Elle’s Pixie Dust stamp set, and seemed very fitting for the themes. I also ran glue around the edge of the white panel and sprinkled it with loose glitter to add some more sparkle and shine.

Finally it was time to assemble the card. I used double-sided tape to attach the string on the back of the red and white panel, then adhered that down using my tape roller. The white panel was also adhered using the tape roller. For the blue star I used foam squares to raise it up and give a bit more volume to the card.

Sparkle! 2I quite like how this card turned out. It was nice to find a use for the patterned papers which I’d otherwise been struggling to use. I think the whole thing comes together nicely, and is a good response to the various challenges.

Love,

Lady Joyful

16 thoughts on “Sparkle!

  1. What a great design and what a fun way to be inspired! Love the way it turned out. Thanks so much for joining us at The Cat’s Pajamas TCP Tuesday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful take on the sketch and you mix of papers. Love how you added your glitter. Thanks for sharing with us at Mod Squad Challenge Blog this week. Check back tomorrow for a brand new challenge.
    Kathy
    MSCB DT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A perfect take on the sketch, and love the glitter! Thanks for playing with us at Sweet Stampin’.
    /T. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

