Blue Butterfly Birthday

Blue Butterfly BirthdayThis CAS card is a response to three challenges. CASology‘s cue card gave the word “row” which seemed a perfect choice to go with the inspiration card provided my Jenni over at Muse. Seize The Birthday‘s birds, bees or butterflies theme seemed a good choice to go with it too!

I decided to stay quite faithful to the inspiration card and go with a row of butterflies. It seemed a good excuse to make use of the sweet butterflies in Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus stamp set. I stamped the three butterflies onto a scrap of white card using Memento Tuxedo Black ink. I then coloured them in with pastel pencils, using blue on the top wings and green on the bottom wings. I then softened the colour by going over them with white pastel pencil. The green ended up not actually showing very well, but I don’t think it matters.

As the pastel pencils had faded the lines of the stamping I restamped over them. Somehow I managed to line up the middle one perfectly but still get the outer two badly aligned, even though I hadn’t removed the stamps from the block… Oh well. (Incidentally, does anyone else think that the butterfly on the right looks like it could be a little fairy? The base of the antennae has a bit that looks almost like a tiny head, and the end of the body could be one leg with the line under the wings being another leg kicked back. Am I the only one seeing it? Now that I’ve seen it, I can’t stop seeing it!)

I then began fussy cutting the butterflies which was quite fiddly and time consuming, especially around the antennae. Once they were cut out I positioned them on my card base to try and get an idea of where I should stamp the sentiment. The sentiment comes from Altenew’s Super Script. (And that means that I have now – entirely unintentionally – used that stamp set on all four of the Muse challenges I’ve participated in!) I stamped it directly onto the card base using the same black ink I’d used for the butterflies.

The final step was assembly. First I adhered the middle butterfly, popping it up on foam squares for a bit of added interest. Then I attached the other two either side and slightly lower than the middle butterfly. I used my tape runner to attach them.

Blue Butterfly Birthday 2I’m pretty happy with how this turned out. It’s a very simple card and I love how easy it would be to recreate. I still wish I had a better colouring medium to use though. I have dropped lots of hints to my family about getting me Copics for my birthday present, and my birthday isn’t until October!

Love,

Lady Joyful

20 thoughts on “Blue Butterfly Birthday

Leave a Reply

