Summer Holidays

Summer HolidaysToday’s card is another one that almost didn’t exist. In the end though I refused to let creative block beat me and decided to just start and see where I would end up. The layout for the card isย Mojo Monday‘s latest. Daring Cardmakers provided an elemental inspiration with lots of beach and summer themes – I picked up on the overall feel of summer, the sunshine and sand, the blues and the bright colours. DRS Designs, Sweet Stampin‘ and Crafts and Me all also asked for summer themed cards.

I began with the circle part of the sketch. I wanted to incorporate summer sunshine, and what better way than to make a sun?! Thinking back to the way I’d done my fairy thank you card I used a daubing technique to colour a partial circle with my Spiced Marmalade ink. I’m really loving the distress inks lately – so much versatility with them! I definitely need to get some more.

With the sun made I decided it made sense to have a blue card base, to represent both sea and sky. I picked out some of the pearlised blue card I have a folded that to make the card base.

Next I had to decide what to do for the main panel. I figured I would do some kind of image panel but wasn’t sure what. Looking through my stamps I was left uninspired and, I’ll admit, more than a little frustrated. Nothing seemed suitable!

Looking at the inspiration collage I wanted to be able to do flip flops, or shells, or ice lollies. But I don’t have those. Okay I do have ice-cream, but the stamp is too solid for what I had in mind. Then I spotted the little pinwheel in My Mind’s Eye My Girl stamp set. It reminded me of being on a family holiday, walking along the beach in Cornwall with my (at the time) baby cousin giggling at one of those pinwheels. It was the day she learned to say my little brother’s name (or at least, her version of his name!)

So I figured it would do

I found a scrap of white card which was the perfect size – no trimming required! – and started stamping. I stamped three little pinwheels, the outer two being slightly higher than the third, in Memento Tuxedo Black ink. Then I decided I would paint them. The first I did with Seedless Preserves, which ended up slightly too dark… Then I used (generic) pink for the middle one, and (generic) yellow for the last one. (If you’re looking at the picture of the card in confusion now, bare with me!)

For the pinwheels’ sticks I got innovative. I took the teepee from Avery Elle’s Home Sweet Home stamp set and inked up one of the straight edges to stamp the sticks. That was fine until I inked up the wrong edge and managed to stamp a line going across my panel… Oops…

Never mind. I turned the paper over and started again. This time I did the colours different. I skipped the Seedless Preserves as it was too dark, and instead used generic inks in pink, yellow and green. I like the pink best – it gave the best result.

With the pinwheels finally finished I painted in a very rough background. A light wash of Spiced Marmalade for the sand, and a wash of generic blue ink for the sky. I then set aside the image panel to dry.

I decided I wanted to mount the image panel and settled on a bright yellow for that purpose. I then picked out a green for the flag. At first my plan was to stamp a sentiment straight onto the green, but I decided it would look better having the green as a mat with a white flag over it, which is what I did. The sentiment is from Avery Elle’s Petal Panel, and I stamped it in parts to fit the flag I had already cut.

Finally I just had to assemble the card. I used lots of tape runner on the back of the image panel to make sure it properly attached to the yellow mat, as the painting had caused it to warp slightly. I also used the tape runner to attach the matted image panel to the card base, and the sun on top of it. The flag I raised up on foam squares.

Summer Holidays 2I’m pretty happy with how this card turned out. It’s not my favourite, but it works. Actually it is kind of fun to look at it and think about how much I have developed from when I started cardmaking at the beginning of the year. I am now using techniques I never would have thought of back then, and building cards from sketches that would have left me befuzzled. It’s a good feeling!

Love,

Lady Joyful

14 thoughts on “Summer Holidays

  1. Such a lovely summery card. I love the stamp and the colours you’ve used – just perfect. Thank you for sharing your ‘Summer/Holiday Destination’ project with us and joining in with the fun at Sweet Stampinโ€™, and good luck. Hugs Janine xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww, now that speaks of a British Summer by the sea to me! Love it!! Thanks for joining us this week at Sweet Stampin’ for our Summer/Holiday Destinations challenge. Your entry is absolutely adorable. Hugs, Wends xoxo Sweet Stampin ‘DT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

