Christmas Tag Card

Christmas Tag CardToday’s second card is a bit more traditional than the clean and simple card I posted earlier today. Four challenges went into the making of this Christmas card. The Paper Players and TCP Tuesday both have Christmas in July themes at the moment. Color Throwdown‘s red, green and white challenge seemed a perfect choice to go with it (more traditional colours than those I used in my last Christmas card!) I also included AAA Cards‘ challenge which was to use tags.

I went into this card not having a clue about what I was going to make. Sometimes I have a plan, sometimes I don’t, and on this one I was definitely winging it! I pulled out my pack of little tags that I recently acquired and dug out one of the red ones and one of the green ones. I was considering using one of each colour but eventually decided to use a green tag on a red card base.

Having chosen the green tag I found all my red card, assessed which shade looked best with the green, and cut it to the size I wanted. I decided to make a square card so I went ahead and did that. Actually it did end up ever so slightly longer one way than the other, because I’m still having trouble with my paper-cutter, but the difference is so small it isn’t really noticeable.

Remembering that I needed white on the card I decided to use my snowflake border punch on a scrap of white card and punch an accent to add to the tag. I stuck that on with my tape runner, and despite my best efforts I managed to get it on wonky… I didn’t want to start over so I decided to just put up with it.

Next I pulled out some patterned paper. It is white with a subtle silver snowflake pattern across it. Initially I was planning on just making a panel of it which would line up with the bottom of the snowflake line on the tag (if that makes sense…) but I changed my mind and decided to punch the snowflake border punch along that too.

At this point I went ahead and added my ribbon to the tag whilst I considered what I wanted to do next. I used a white, slightly see-through ribbon and just tied it in a simple bow. I’m not great at bows, but it worked well enough.

After some thought I figured I would keep the card pretty simple, as there was plenty going on already, and just add a sentiment. I only have the one Christmas sentiment (need to rectify that!) and it is in Finnish. Anyway, I went ahead and stamped that straight onto the card base and… Managed to smudge it awfully and make a terrible mess. Oh dear.

But it was easy enough to fix. I just cut a slightly smaller panel of the red card to layer over, and stamped the sentiment onto that. If I had my embosser I would have heat embossed it, but I haven’t collected it from my dad’s yet!

Finally I just had to assemble card. I used a piece of red foam behind the panel to pop it up a bit on the card base. Everything else was stuck down with Tombow Multi Mono liquid glue. I messed up lining up the tag, and the snowflake borders don’t match up as neatly as I had hoped, but the ends of the ribbon cover it well enough so it’s not obvious!

Christmas Tag Card 2I’m pretty happy with how this card turned out. I would be happier if I’d managed to line everything up properly, but never mind. The colours work nicely, and it certainly shouts “Christmas”! It’s maybe a bit too traditional for my personal taste. But I do think it is good to experiment with different styles, especially when I am in this early stage of finding my feet as a card maker!

Love,

Lady Joyful

18 thoughts on “Christmas Tag Card

  1. I admire people who get an early start on their Christmas cards. Lovely holiday card and a great way to highlight the throwdown colors! Thanks so much for joining in our challenge this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great to see you playing along in our Tag challenge this week at AAA Cards and a wonderful opportunity to get ahead with those Christmas makes. Striking and fun and thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

