Summer Sunset

Summer SunsetWhere yesterday’s card was subtle in its colour scheme, today’s is a lot bolder. It actually uses the same layout as yesterday’s, but has such a different look to it! The layout is of course from My Favorite Things. The summer theme comes from both Mod Squad and 4 Crafty Chicks. Addicted to CAS asked for stripes whilst Moving Along With The Times requested that no designer papers be used. Finally I decided to enter the card to a couple of anything goes challenges, from Craft Rocket and A Bit More Time To Craft.

Summer cards have been a bit difficult for me. I’ve found them difficult because I don’t have any particularly summer themed stamps or patterned papers. The latter of course was irrelevant for this card as I wasn’t allowed to use designer papers for it! I went and looked at summer cards on Pinterest to see if anything would inspire me, and I saw a few different ones that used stripes of torn paper to make a scene. I liked the idea and knew I had papers on hand that would work, so that’s what I did.

I started by cutting a scrap of white card to the size I needed for the image panel. Then I went through my paper stash to find the papers I wanted to use. I tried to use scraps and snippets rather than starting a new piece of paper, because this card seemed like a good way to use small pieces up. I took orange and a couple of different shades of yellow for the sky, a few different shades of blue for the sea, and for the sand I crumpled up an old paper bag and tore some strips off of that.

I knew I needed a flat horizon so I used my paper-cutter to trim the dark blue and the palest yellow shade to make the horizon line. I then tore the other side of those strips, and tore strips from each of the other colours I wanted to use. Next I laid the stripes out on the backing panel to work out the layout. I wanted the sky to go from light to dark as it went up, with the torn side up. I also carefully considered how I would want them to overlap. The sea went the opposite way, starting dark at the horizon and getting lighter towards the shore, with the torn sides being closest to the sand as if they were the edges of waves. I added in a white stripe to be the foam where the water meets the sand. There are actually two stripes of the paper used for the sand, though it’s hard to tell.

Before I stuck the papers down I knew I needed a sun for my sunset. If you’ve read my posts before you probably know how much I hate having to cut circles… I cheated on this one – the sun is actually a piece of card from some washi tape, so was already circular and I didn’t have to cut it at all! I did sponge it to give it a more sun-like colour. I used Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink on a make up sponge (because that’s what I have available), and just applied a very light layer to give an orange-yellow glow to the sun. Whilst I had the sponge out (and without re-inking it) I ran it over the paper for the sand, just to add a bit of warmth and depth to it.

Then I started adhering the image panel together. I covered the panel with Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue and placed the stripes in one at a time, trying to pay close attention to the order. The orange at the top was first based on the way I wanted them to overlap. Once I got to the horizon I changed direction, moving down to the ‘sand’ then layering each subsequent stripe on top of the previous one until I reached the horizon line. I then slid my sun into place, again using the Tombow, lifting the dark blue stripe slightly to wiggle it properly into place.

Whilst I really liked the image I felt it needed something more. I decided a little boat on the water would look good. I found a small scrap of heavy white paper and stamped the boat from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends. I then fussy cut it, before colouring it in completely with a black marker. I figured that as it is right in front of the sun it would be completely silhouetted. Whilst I was colouring the boat I noticed that I’d made a mistake on my stripes and got the two paler blues the wrong way round… Whoops! Never mind, it still works.

I let my little boat dry for a moment as I didn’t want black ink smudged on my image, then adhered it down slightly off centre. I used the Tombow again for this as I wanted to make sure I could get it positioned right before it was completely stuck in place.

For the banner part of the layout I took a strip of gold paper and cut it to the required length and shape, then adhered it to the back of the image panel. I initially wasn’t sure what to use for the second banner, but ended up taking a strip of white paper and colouring it with a metallic blue marker. I adhered that one directly too the card base.

The image layer and its attached banner were adhered onto the card base with foam tape to add some nice dimension to the card. At this point the card was technically finished but it did feel like it was missing something, so I decided to add a sentiment. I stamped happy birthday from Altenew’s Super Script directly to the card base. I was very very careful because having already stuck everything in place I really didn’t want to mess anything up at this point. Luckily it turned out perfectly!

Summer Sunset 2I really like how this card turned out. It seems like a very tranquil scene to me, and I love how clean and simple it is even with all those bold and bright colours. It is summery and peaceful, and a part of me wishes I could be on that beach right now! I have really enjoyed this sketch and I think I will get a lot of use out of it in future. It’s a lot of fun to use.

Love,

Lady Joyful

15 thoughts on “Summer Sunset

Leave a Reply

