Purple Night

Purple NightSince I started doing card challenges my card making process has mostly been to chose some challenges to work from, and build a card based around those challenges. Today I took a different approach. None of the challenges I was ‘meant’ to be doing were inspiring me, so I just started making the card I wanted to make, and once it was done worked out what challenges I could use it for. The challenges I settled on are Simon Says Stamp Monday‘s flora and/or fauna challenge (I did flora), CASology‘s art cue, and anything goes challenges from Craft Rocket, Dragonfly Dreams and A Bit More Time To Craft.

I actually made two versions of this image, one using purple and the other using orange. (You can see a picture of the orange one at the end of this post – I didn’t mount it on a card base yet.) In fact when I began making the card I was thinking I would have orange and purple on one card, with the purple blended in from one corner, the orange from the other, and white between them. I ended up not doing that though!

I started my sponging my Seedless Preserves Distress ink on white card, beginning with one corner and working my way across until the card was covered. Blending was a bit difficult but I didn’t want a smooth solid colour anyway so it worked out well enough in the end. I then took a damp piece of cotton wool and started sponging off some of the ink. My idea was it would give the impression of clouds. It didn’t really work so I sponged a bit more colour back over it.

Next I splattered water droplets from two different sizes of paintbrush. The smaller one didn’t seem to flick the water very well. I think maybe it was too small, as it is a very tiny brush. I let the water sit for a few moments then pressed some kitchen towel over it to pick the water off.

Before proceeding I let the panel dry. This was the point that I swapped to do the orange one, using Spiced Marmalade and the same technique. When I returned to my purple panel it was to stamp my tree. This is a new to me stamp which in fact arrived today. It’s by Stamperia and I think the name of it is just “Oak”. It’s a lovely, very detailed image. Anyway, I inked the stamp up with Memento Tuxedo Black ink (the only good black ink I have!) and stamped it relatively centrally on the panel. I then freehand cut a hill from black card to give the tree something to stand on. I stamped the bottom part of the stamp on that as well, then attached the hill to the image base, making sure the stamp lined up.

For a final touch I added a few dots of Wink of Stella at random across the background. It doesn’t really show up in the pictures, but it adds a nice hint of shine and sparkle to the card. (Incidentally that was also part of my order that arrived today!)

The last step was to adhere the panel to a card base. I folded one from some black card, after much dithering about what to use. I seem to be completely out of white card now which is… yeah… frustrating. I should buy some more, but I’m not sure what is good to get.

Purple Night 2I’m really happy with how this turned out. It’s far from perfect and there are changes I would make if and when I make it again. I would probably use my MISTI (once I have it) to stamp the tree so that I can double stamp it and make sure the colour really takes. Additionally I would probably, given the option, use a different black ink, ideally one that doesn’t react with water, because I think the Memento reactivated the purple ink slightly. I might also stamp the tree off to one side and not centrally.

Another change I would make is adding a sentiment. I did consider adding one but I wanted to add it to the hill, and I don’t have any ink that would show up, nor do I have my embossing tool with me yet. I want to heat emboss a sentiment in white, because I think that would look fantastic. (I’ve seen it done on a lot of the cardmaking videos I’ve been watching and love how it looks!) And I think maybe using a stitched rectangle die to cut the entire panel and leave that pretty stitching all around the edge would be fabulous. Maybe a stitched hill die for the hill too – freehanding worked okay, but…

So, just a few changes…

Oh and as promised, here’s a picture of the orange one. I like the purple one more. What do you think?

Purple Night in Orange

Love,

Lady Joyful

21 thoughts on “Purple Night

    1. That’s what I thought 😀 I’m quite partial to purple anyway, so that probably helped my decision 😉 Yes, the stamp is gorgeous! It was on sale and I wasn’t certain whether to get it or not, but I’m so glad I decided to.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That depends whether it is lined up properly or not. If it was a clear stamp I might have risked trying to line it up and double stamp it, but it’s not clear so I wouldn’t have been able to get it properly lined up. If it’s stamped perfectly in the exact same place, it will be clearer.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I like both equally. It is refreshing to see an almost non challenge design. I think the challenges tend to impose a commonality that runs through many of your previous cards as those challenges are rather tame and repetitive.

    I vote for more of your original creativity, although I do understand that challenges = links = page hits.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the input! I do like having the challenges as a starting point sometimes, but it was also fun doing it the other way around. I will try to do more where I start off with an idea and then see what challenges I can submit it to. (I did that with my yeti and igloo one, for example.)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

