Birthday in Orange

 

Birthday in OrangeI’ve made two cards today. This is actually the second, and simpler, of the two. I made a recording of the process for the other one and editing it is giving me trouble, so I decided to post this first! I’ll be entering this card into the birthday challenge from Paru’s Cardmaking Challenges.

Making this card was really straightforward. I took a piece of heavy yellow paper and embossed it using my Darice Birthday Collage embossing folder (as seen in my Big Shot unboxing video!) This was my very first time using an embossing folder and it was fascinating!

The paper I used may have been a little thin perhaps, as it tore slightly when I was taking it out of the folder.

Next I inked up a sponge with Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink and rubbed over the embossing to really make it stand out against the background.

I decided to mount the panel on a black card base as that would help make it pop. I realised the panel was a bit too big and figured I would use my paper trimmer to take a little off the edge. Bad idea. It ripped. Ugh… Well, now I know not to do it in future. I had to cut more off than I’d planned to remove the ripped part, and then on the other side to keep it symmetrical. It ended up a little bit messy looking but never mind.

Once it was trimmed down I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue to adhere it to the cardbase and that was it. All done!

Birthday in Orange 2I do like this card. I think it’s effective despite its simplicity. I’ll probably recreate it, I just have to make sure I don’t rip it next time!

Love,

Lady Joyful

6 thoughts on “Birthday in Orange

Leave a Reply

