Sunny Greetings

Sunny GreetingsA quick and simple card today, which is good considering how hectic things are! I made this as a response to three challenges. Tuesday Throwdown asked for a one layer card. Mod Squad requested distress ink lifting. And Time Out provided a quote as inspiration.

“Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine”
Anthony J. D’Angelo

Based on the quote I decided I wanted to do a sun. I don’t have any sun stamps or dies though. I knew I wanted to sponge with my Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink, so I needed a mask. I created my mask by taking the centre of a paper plate (leftover from making spring wreaths with the girls I was nannying at my old job.) and die cutting it using one of the star framelits. I ran it through three times, rotating slightly each time, until I had a shape I was happy with. I also die cut the centre with a circle.

With my mask ready I laid it in place on a piece of white card. (Iย know I have a piece somewhere big enough to make a card base but could not find it… So I cheated a little and used a panel the same size as the front of the card will be, and once I find the card base I will put it together. It will still be one layer in appearance.) I positioned the circle in the centre and began sponging on the ink. Once I was happy with the depth of colour I removed the circle and added a light layer of colour to the centre.

To meet the criteria of lifting – and because I wanted to! – I sprayed the card front with water and then lifted the ink by pressing a paper towel to it. I did that twice in total.

Lastly I added the sentiment, making sure the card was completely dry before doing so. I used the “hello” from Altenew’s Super Scriptย and ended up double stamping it to make sure it would take properly – good thing the font is nice and bold so that it is easy to line up!

Sunny Greetings 2I do like how this turned out. It is bright and cheerful, and the sun worked quite well considering that I had to cobble it together! My second water spray did lift more ink than I had intended, leaving it a bit too splotchy, but I think I had that quite well by stamping the sentiment over it!

Love,

Lady Joyful

13 thoughts on “Sunny Greetings

  1. Lovely project, I am very glad you entered this week at Tuesday Throwdown. I hope you had fun!!! See you back very soon to play in another fun challenge.

    TTFN,

    CraftyGirl
    craftygirlcardsandcrafts.blogspot.com
    Tuesday Throwdown DT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Strawberry Note | The Joyful Soul Creates

Leave a Reply

