Pink Birthday Butterfly

Pink Birthday ButterflyThe second card of today is a feminine one in contrast to the previous which was masculine. And it’s a birthday card rather than a Christmas one. It’s also a response to fewer challenges – only six for this one. Its layout comes from retrosketches with the colour scheme of pink and brown being requested by Seize the Birthday. The Butterfly Spot Challenge also asked for pink along with the use of a punch and, of course, butterflies. The challenge from DRS Designs is for ‘naked’ (uncoloured) stamping, whilst Allsorts Challenge is looking for some sparkle. And for Simon Says Stamp Wednesday anything goes.

I started by creating my card base. I wanted to stick with a square, as in the provided layout. I found some dark brown paper, and trimmed and folded it to make the card base.

Next I made the focal panel. I found a piece of kraft card stock to use for that, to stay with the brown colour scheme. For the pink I wanted to use a patterned paper but couldn’t find one that seemed suitable. Instead I used a piece of plain pink card stock which I embossed using the lattice design from Rachael Bright’s Butterfly Lattice Set.

I then went on to stamp my image. I wanted to stay very simple, in keeping with the idea of naked stamping. I went for the Kaisercraft CS952 Flutter stamp and stamped it onto the panel with a light pink pigment ink. I used my MISTI for the stamping, and restamped a couple of times to make sure that the stamping was nice and crisp.

I cut my banner from the same kraft card stock and mounted it on the pink (unembossed) card stock. The sentiment is from Altenew’s Super Script and stamped with Memento Tuxedo Black. For the punch I used the same pink card as I had for the embossed panel and the larger banner layer.

Finally it was time to assemble the card. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to attach the embossed panel (wonkily…) and carefully trimmed the over-hanging edge away. I then used foam squares (because I don’t have foam tape at the moment) to attach the image panel with a bit of volume. I added more volume with the banner by curling it slightly, and using a foam square to attach the raised part and my tape runner for the not raised part. I then used my tape runner to attach the butterfly.

At this point I realised I’d forgotten my touch of sparkle, and carefully went over the butterfly with Wink of Stella to add that in and help make the butterfly stand out from the other pink on the card.

Pink Birthday Butterfly 2I don’t love this card. I want to, but I don’t. I feel like the colours are too samey, the image panel too plain, and that perhaps the two butterflies don’t work well together. Like the other card I posted today, I feel like this is a card that could work out well, but I need to work on the execution of it a bit more.

Love,

Lady Joyful

26 thoughts on “Pink Birthday Butterfly

      1. Embossing folders 🙂 I have the birthday one I used before. This lattice one also came with a butterfly one in the same set. Then I have… one with a circle which I think is too big for the cards I normally do, so not sure what to do with that. And a couple that make borders. And of course I have a wishlist of different folders to one day eventually get 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Well I for one like this card very much and think the butterflies compliment one another perfectly. I find Kraft card is always a difficult product for me to use and need to do so more often. Thankyou for fluttering by my challenge where your card will be entered for the prizes twice. hugs Mrs A.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You should love it! The color are muted but that softness is so pretty! Love the addition of the extra butterfly too. Another wonderful example of naked stamping. Thanks for joining us again in the DRS Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is an unusual design, but so effective! Love the embossed layer and the colours combo! The punched butterfly matches very well with the double banner!
    Thanks for sharing your card at the Butterfly Challenge#59

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful use of the challenge colors! I love the embossed pink panel. It really pops against the brown. Thanks for playing along with us at Seize the Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

