Embossed Grateful Butterfly

Embossed Grateful ButterflyI have another pink butterfly card for you today. This one uses two types of embossing – dry embossing and heat embossing. Five challenges went into the creation of this card. Alphabet Challenge‘s prompt is kindness, which seemed a good fit to accompany CAS on Sunday‘s request for thank you cards. Less is More asked for the use of something tactile, and Allsorts Challenge wants a touch of sparkle. Finally, for Simon Says Stamp Wednesday anything goes.

I started by considering what to do to make the card tactile. I settled on dry embossing. I chose to use the butterfly embossing folder from Rachael Bright’s Butterfly Lattice Set. I picked out a pearlised card, for the sparkle. I have three colours of this card – pink, blue and green – and went for the pink as I already had a piece cut to more or less the right size. I trimmed it down to the size I wanted and ran it through my Big Shot in the embossing folder.

Next I added my sentiment. The “thank you” comes from Avery Elle’s Petal Panel and the “forever grateful” is from Altenew’s Wild Hibiscus. I used my MISTI to line up and stamp the sentiment with embossing ink (having first prepared the paper with my powder tool to remove any static or grease), then used Superfine Silver embossing powder from Papermania and melted it with my heat gun. Side note here – this is only the second card I’ve made (or tried to make…) with heat embossing. I’ve also tried a couple after this one too. And this is the only one that worked properly… Hopefully I’ll get better with practice!

Finally I applied plenty of Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue to the back of the pink panel and adhered it to a white card base, leaving an even border on each side of the panel. I did end up going back and applying Wink of Stella to the dry embossed butterfly to try to add some more sparkle, but as the pink card is pearlised it didn’t really make much difference to the overall look of the card.

Embossed Grateful Butterfly 2I’m really pleased with how this card turned out. There’s not really anything about it I would change. I guess I would work at getting the heat embossing done better, though as I said it’s the best I’ve done so far! I love the simplicity of this card. It has a lot of versatility and would be fairly straight forward to recreate.

Love,

Lady Joyful

11 thoughts on “Embossed Grateful Butterfly

Leave a Reply

