Purrfect Birthday Cats

Purrfect Birthday CatsHere’s another card using kraft, though with this one it is only for the details. The layout for this card comes from Freshly Made Sketches whilst the colour scheme is from Color Throwdown. I’m also entering this to Simon Says Stamp Monday‘s celebrate themed challenge.

I started by stamping my cats, which come from the Christmas Cats stamp set which I got from Simon Says Stamp a few weeks back.I stamped the cats onto a snippet of kraft paper and then used colouring pencils to add detail. I gave them both white tummies. I added subtle stripes to the taller cat, and some patches of colour to the shorter one. I also added pink to their ears and noses. Once I was happy with them I cut them out. I do have the coordinating dies, but I don’t have my die cutter with me at the moment, so I went ahead and fussy cut them.

Next I wanted to give the kitties some accessories in the aqua colour. As this is a birthday cards I decided to give them birthday hats and a present. I stamped the hats, which are from Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends, onto another snippet of kraft and started colouring them. I quickly realised I wasn’t happy with the colour against the kraft, so I restamped them on white paper instead. I coloured them with some very basic shading. If I’d had a white gel pen I would have added spots and stripes to the hats… It’s on my to-buy list! I then stamped the present from the cats stamp set and gave that the same aqua colour for the wrapping paper with a greener colour on the ribbon and bow. I then fussy cut the hats and present, and glued them onto the cats.

Purrfect Birthday Cats 2Next I needed to create my sentiment. I worked out where I would want the cats on my card front, then drew a faint pencil line so I knew where to stamp the sentiment. I didn’t have any ready birthday sentiments that I wanted to use, and I didn’t want to use my usual alphabet stamps, so I decided to use the new-to-me alphabet stamps I got from Hobbycraft. I’ll be honest, I do not recommend these stamps. They’re difficult to get off the backing paper because they’re packed so close together; I had to use my craft knife to cut some of them apart because they were still attached to each other; the letters are each on a fairly large square which makes it easy for mounting but means you can’t easily position the letters next to each other… But I do really like the way the font looks! I used my MISTI for stamping the letters, in part because they are, as I said, very difficult to position. I ended up having to position and stamp one letter at a time to get it right, so it took quite a while to do!

Purrfect Birthday Cats InsideOnce my sentiment was finally finished I was able to finish up the card. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue to adhere my little cats in place on the front of the card. I then decided to stamp inside the card too. I took the “Wishing you a purrfect holiday” sentiment that came with the cats and selectively stamped it to make it more suitable for a birthday card. I then took the smaller cat stamp and stamped him over the sentiment using brown pigment ink, and stamped a ball of wool beside him using the closest to aqua coloured pigment ink I have. Finally as I was having so much fun I used the taller cat stamp to add a little fun to the envelope, making it look as though he’s peeking out! (You may have seen that already if you’re following my Facebook page!)

Purrfect Birthday Cats EnvelopeI’m so happy with how this card turned out. I really adore this cat stamp set and had a lot of fun with it. If I had to change anything it would have been to decorate the smaller cat differently (not sure I like the patches…), add white gel pen accents to the hats and present, and also go around the fussy cut images with a memento marker or similar, which is another thing on my to-buy list!

Love,

Lady Joyful

20 thoughts on “Purrfect Birthday Cats

    1. Oh I know, I adore these stamps! I’m so pleased I got them.

      Memento is the black ink I use, and I’ve seen (on youtube videos of card making) that it is possible to buy a marker with the same ink. People use it to go along the cut edge of a fussy cut image which covers the white (the core of the paper) and makes it look a bit more ‘professional’.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, the cats are so adorable! I love the clean design with those two sweeties. Thank you for joining us at SSS Monday Challenge and celebrating with us the 6th Anniversary. Hugs, Marzena

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

