Christmas Stripes

Christmas StripesThis Christmas card was quite simple to put together. So simple in fact that I actually made two! This is my response to retrosketches latest layout as well as Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge, Christmas Challenge Extra, and Patterned paper challenge. My colour scheme was inspired by Sweet Stampin‘s black, white and one other colour challenge – in fact that’s why I ended up with two cards… I couldn’t decide what colour to do!

My starting point was picking the striped paper for the background. I found a pack of striped vellum that I’d almost forgotten I had, and realised the red and green would both work well for a Christmas card. I decided to use both on their own cards. I then picked out some plain green and plain red, as well as some black card stock.

I trimmed each piece of vellum to fit on my card bases with a slight border around them. I then trimmed the coloured card stock to be the same length as the vellum, and 3cm wide. I cut the black card stock to me 5cm wide and about half the length of the coloured card stock.

I attached the black card to the coloured strip using my tape runner, then placed it in my MISTI to be stamped (one colour at a time, of course). For the sentiment I used letters from Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs. I stamped three times to get a nice, crisp impression.

At this point I had to stop and go to work! Which gave everything plenty of time to dry. In theory…

 

Christmas Stripes 2

When I returned to the card I started assembling it. I used my tape runner on the back of the stamped strips and pressed them into place on the appropriate piece of striped vellum. I then flipped over and put more tape runner adhesive behind the strip, so that I could stick the vellum to the card base without the adhesive showing through. Of course when I was pressing everything down I managed to smudge the ink on my red card, because 12+ hours is not enough time for the ink to dry apparently…

With everything tuck in place I felt that the sentiment banner needed something more. I really wanted to add star sequins, but seeing as the ones I have are in my craft box back home (several hundred kilometres away) I decided against it! I did ask husband if he wanted to bring them to me, but for some reason he didn’t… Ah well. Instead I stamped stars from the Christmas Cats stamp set.

Christmas Stripes 3I’m quite happy with how these cards turned out. Actually I would quite like to make a whole set of them. What do you think, would a set of this style Christmas cards make a good gift for someone?

Love,

Lady Joyful

11 thoughts on “Christmas Stripes

  1. I think these are lovely, simple and stylish and I would quite happily buy a box of these to send..like the green, fresh and a bit different. A whole range of colours from pink through to gold would work beautifully…love the little star stamps too : )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, thanks! If I manage to make a whole bunch (with a sensible amount of time before Christmas…) I’ll be sure to let you know so you can buy some if you like. And of course as my most supportive commenter you would get a discounted rate! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such fabulous CAS cards – just perfect at Christmas time for batch making, I love your choice of colours and papers.

    Thank you for sharing your card and joining in our ‘Black, White and One Other Colour’ challenge this week over at Sweet Stampin’, and good luck. Hugs Janine xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i think it’s a fab idea to make these in a variety of colours. both of the colours you’ve used work really well! Thank you for playing along at Sweet Stampin’ this week. Sammy-x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

