Birthday Panel

Birthday PanelThis card was much quicker to put together than the previous one I shared with you today. The inspiration mostly came from Freshly Made Sketches layout, along with the patterned paper challenges from Inkspirational and Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper.
Originally I was going to use this layout for a water themed card but finding that pretty panel of patterned paper made me change my ideas. It seemed like a perfect fit for the layout and I knew I had to use it.

Looking through my stamps I found the bold and scripty Happy Birthday sentiment, one of my recent Hobby Craft acquisitions, and realised it would fit nicely onto the panel. I actually used the backing acetate (which has the lettering stamped on it) to help me work out the exact positioning before stamping it with black pigment ink.

Next I needed to make the strips for the card. I wanted to pick out one of the colours in the floral pattern and had a yellow-green that would work nicely. My snippet was actually a smidge too short, but I fixed that by splitting it in half and leaving a gap between the two pieces. It’s hidden by the stamped panel anyway so nobody can tell.

I was considering pink for the other strip but couldn’t find any paper that seemed quite the right shade. I did find the gold which I realised would work nicely so I went with that instead. I stamped on that again using the black pigment ink and another stamp set from my Hobby Craft, which is a type-writer style font.

Finally I just had to adhere everything together. I used my tape runner to attach the green strip to the back of the stamped panel, and adhered those to the card base with the tape runner too. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue to attack the gold strip as that allowed me some wiggle time to make sure it was correctly aligned.

Birthday Panel 2I’m quite happy with how this turned out. It’s different from the style I’ve been gravitating towards lately, but it’s nice to have a bit of variation. If I’d had any, I might have added some sequins or something for a bit of embellishment. But they’re all at home with husband!

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Birthday Panel

Leave a Reply

