Splashy Birthday Elephant

Splashy Birthday ElephantIt took me a while to work out where I was going with this card. Once I’d get there though, it all just came together! The challenges that went into this card are the sketch from My Favorite Things, birthday theme from Seize the Birthday and wild animal theme from Simon Says Stamp Wednesday, as well as the punny sentiment from Lawnscaping Challenge.
I started by cutting a small image panel for the top part of the card. I decided I would use my elephant as the wild animal. It is Itty Bitty by Unity – It’s a Party. I masked off the little platform thing that it stands off so that I could have it standing on ground instead. Once I stamped it I coloured it in with my coloured pencils. I then added some water droplets to appear as if they are coming from its trunk. I coloured those in with pencil too, and added a little white gel pen for highlights.

I decided to go very simple for the background and just drew in a rough hill and coloured it and the sky with my coloured pencils.

For the long strip I decided to use a piece of blue vellum. Picking out another colour from my image I went for a little snippet of silver which I rounded off with my corner chomper, and used that as the “tab” part of the sketch.

My sentiment is a composite of stamps from the Altenew Halftone Happy set, along with letters (for SPLASHY) from Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs. I stamped it in black pigment ink directly onto the card base to show through the vellum, as I do not have any ink that would work on top of the vellum, and I don’t have my heat embossing tools with me at the moment.

Finally I assembled the card. I worked out where the image panel would be, and applied tape runner to the vellum so that it would be hidden by the image panel. I also folded over the end of the vellum to tuck behind the end of the card and adhered it on the inside. I used foam tape for the image panel to give a little volume, and held the little tab in place on the back of the image panel with the same piece of foam tape. My final touch was a little Wink of Stella to give a bit of shimmer to the body of the elephant.

Splashy Birthday Elephant 2I like this card. It’s sweet and simple. And didn’t require too much brain power, which is good because I don’t have a lot at the moment!

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Splashy Birthday Elephant

    1. Thanks! 😀 At first I was finding the elephant a bit tricky to colour, because it’s just grey, and the shadows I had put didn’t seem to work… But then I darkened the shadows more and that helped! I love when I learn things from my card making 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

