Make A Wish

Make A WishThis card was pretty fun to make! It’s my response to the current Muse challenge. I also incorporated Cupcake Inspiration‘s shine bright and CASology‘s Dream theme (interpreting dream as a synonym of wish). And as I used snippets for the candles, this is also an entry to Pixie’s Snippets Playground.

Normally I work on a panel then attach that to a card base, but I decided to live dangerously today(!) and worked directly on the card base. First I masked off an area in the centre of the card. I then painted it with water-colour paints. I put down a wash of pale yellow first, then went over it with a darker yellow, and then an orange along the top, to get an ombre effect.

I set the painted card base aside to dry and got started on my candles. I picked some snippets of pale blue and green card, trimmed each to strips, then rolled them up to make the candles. I sealed them with a little Tombow Multi Mono Liquid Glue.

Next I was trying to work out how to do the flames. I decided I would use my little heart stamps (I think the particular one was from Avery Elle’s Home Sweet Home, though I do have them in several sets).

Initially I was going to stamp it in yellow fading to orangeΒ atΒ the top edge, to look more like flames. It looked great on the scratch paper I tested it on, but the yellow didn’t show on the painted background. So I stamped it straight in the orange instead. Which actually ended up looking red, anyway!

I then stamped in wicks using silver ink, though that doesn’t really show up after I attached the candles! I stuck them on next using the same liquid glue as I’d used to put them together.

Finally I stamped the sentiment. I selectively stamped Β the “wish” from the best wishes sentiment in Avery Elle’s Petal Panel. I then made the rest of the sentiment using letters from Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs. I test stamped that on a piece of scratch paper. Apparently I got ink on my finger in the process and then when I was moving the stamps into position to stamp properly I of course got said ink onto the card base, making a smudge… Sigh. Oh well.

And that was it done!

Make A Wish 2Aside from the annoying smudge I’m pretty happy with how this turned out! I really love the little painted panel. It came out exactly how I wanted it to.

Love,

Lady Joyful

24 thoughts on “Make A Wish

  1. Didn’t even notice the smudge thought it was on my screen!..and that beautiful panel just makes your hearts and candles pop!thank you for joining in with Muse this week x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! πŸ˜€ Hopefully everyone will think it’s there screens, then they won’t realise πŸ˜‰ Maybe I should send it to a glasses wearer, so they’ll just think it’s a mark on their glasses πŸ˜›

      Like

  2. Smudge? What smudge? All I see is an incredibly sweet set of candles set atop an oh-so-pretty background! One-layer marvelous! Thank you for sharing your artistry in the Cupcake Inspirations “Shine Bright” challenge!
    ~carol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

