Black and White Wishes

Black and White WishesMy second card is a monochrome one. The layout comes from Freshly Made Sketches, and the colour scheme is from City Crafter‘s black and white challenge, which combines well with Double D Challenge‘s neutral theme.

I started by looking for a patterned paper for the wedge part of the sketch. I found a lovely floral-ish snippet but it just wasn’t big enough so that wouldn’t do. Then I found this snippet with little paw prints and decided that I had to use that! I cut it to size and adhered it directly to the card front using my tape runner.

Next was the circle part of the sketch. I wanted to use a cat as my little focal point, as it would coordinate well with the paw print paper. I do have a few different cat stamps now (and no doubt my collection will grow!) but I settled on the shorter of the two cats from the Simon Says Stamp Christmas Cats set. I stamped it with black pigment ink onto smooth white card stock. I then went ahead and began my colouring, using my colouring pencils. Of course I was going for a black and white cat! The colour didn’t take on the paper as well as I would have liked, so he’s ended up looking more of a dark grey than a black. But he’ll do! I also added just a hint of pink to his nose and ears. I left his tummy white.

For the sentiment I returned to my faithful Avery Elle Petal Panel set. I love that it fits perfectly along the edge of the wedge! I stamped it directly to the card base using black pigment ink and my MISTI for perfect positioning. I then put foam tape on the back of my cat’s body and pressed him into place on the card. I used a little Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue to stick his tail down to the card base, to add a bit more dimension, because of course the tail is further back than the body!

Black and White Wishes 2I’m pretty happy with how this card turned out. I like that it is gender neutral, and good for anyone (as long as they like cats!) It’s not what I’d had in mind starting out, but I like it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

24 thoughts on “Black and White Wishes

  1. LOVE THESE CATS! So cute, would make a lovely range of different colours too. The monochrome is stylish and striking…you’ve done tabby cats, I have a tabby cat, now a black cat, I have two black cats…I have a Siamese cat… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

