Happy Butterfly Day

Happy Butterfly DayMy second card of the day was a lot simpler to put together. I knew I wanted to make something but with all the time I’d put into the first (and really, I only have about 3 hours between getting home and going to bed… and I have to cook and eat in that time!) I needed something quick. Two challenges went into the creation of this card. The colours come from MFT’s Color Challenge, and the idea for the layout comes from Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s Make for the Border challenge.

I started by stamping my border of butterflies. This stamp is from the My Mind’s Eye My Girl stamp set. I picked out the inks I had closest to the required colours, and decided to use the yellow and orange for the butterfly. I inked the outer edges in the yellow, and the inner in the orange before stamping.

Once the border was done I went on to the sentiment, which is from Altenew’s Halftone Happy. I again did the split colour, applying blue on the bottom and green on the top of my stamp. It didn’t take perfectly but nor did the butterflies! I figure it gives an artistic look. Or something… I stamped the rest of the sentiment in the appropriate colour based on the positioning.

 

Happy Butterfly Day 2And done. Told you it was simple! I’m happy enough with this card considering it was such a quick one. I think if I’d put more time into it it could have turned out a lot better though!

Now I need to go and sort today’s photo-a-day, as I was just reminded I forgot to schedule it!

Love,

Lady Joyful

4 thoughts on “Happy Butterfly Day

  1. It’s so refreshing to see a 100% stamped card, Charlotte, and your colorful butterflies make a lovely border for our Simon Wednesday Challenge! Thanks for sharing your card with us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

