Fairy Dance

Fairy DanceI’ll try to be quick with this post because I have packing to do. And I was going to try and get cards done ready for blogging over the weekend but that seems unlikely… Anyway. This card is a response to: the layout from retrosketches; Addicted to CAS‘s music code word* (I just realised that this may not be CAS enough… this is what happens when I rush things and don’t think!); TCP Tuesday‘s paper piecing challenge; CASology‘s fun cue card (see what I said about Addicted to CAS…): Inkspirational‘s use patterned paper and optionally stamp on it: and Craftyhazelnut’s Patterned Paper Challenge.

First I worked out all my papers for the various layers of the sketch. I knew I wanted to use the music patterned paper, and I decided I would do paper piecing of one of the fairies from Avery Elle’s Pixie Dust. I had the dress left over from a previous paper piecing I’d done with this fairy and decided to use it, which gave me a starting point for colour of my other papers.

With all my papers picked out and trimmed down to size I got started with my stamping. I decided to use gold ink to stamp the fairy onto the banner of paper, as I knew I would be leaving the wings “naked” and felt gold would be a good outline colour. I then stamped the fairy with black ink onto a pale pink paper (for the skin), gold (for the shoes – a pain to cut out!) and a veryΒ very pale white-brown paper (for the hair). I fussy cut each of the elements and attached them in place with liquid glue.

I chose the simple sentiment “Dance” because it seemed like it would fit the music theme, and also because the fairy looks a bit like she is dancing. Of course I realised just after I’d started to press the stamp down that I’d placed my e on upside down. (Incidentally, letters are from Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs.) I hadn’t pressed down completely, and decided to see how it would look once I’d turned the e around. It looks… okay… I guess. Let’s pretend the e is dancing and just move on.

Finally I adhered everything together. I used my tape runner on all the layers, and then used foam adhesive to pop up that top banner. I added Wink of Stella to the fairy’s wings and hair.

Fairy Dance 2I’m pretty happy with how this turned out. It’s not perfect, but when do I ever make something perfect? I think the colour scheme came together brilliantly giving that I pulled it off the top of my head!

Love,

Lady Joyful

*Apparently I had this written down totally wrong because I have completely missed the deadline. Oh well!

12 thoughts on “Fairy Dance

  1. Very sweet card! I love the “note” paper, so nice for this sweet little fairy. Her paper pieced dress really pops! Thanks so much for joining us at The Cat’s Pajamas TCP Tuesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

