Forever Butterfly

Forever ButterflyHere’s a card I made on Saturday, during my brief time at home. I did not look at my challenge list before making it but did have a vague idea of some of the challenges I thought I’d use this for, and decided to include some more once I was able to see the list.

The challenges that I am entering this card for are: Craft Rocket‘s things with wings; Pile It On‘s die cut embellishments; Allsorts Challenge‘s use at least two dies; Inkspirational‘s primary colours; and AAA Cards‘ new to you technique.

The catalyst for making this card was the stencils I’d ordered a little while ago, and finally was able to try out whilst home. I’ve not used stencils before, so that’s my new to me technique. I hadn’t bought any of the craft supplies that I’d taken when I moved back with me (convoluted sentence there…) so I was a bit limited on what I had to work with. I found some acrylic paints and a paintbrush and decided to use those.

I taped the stencil down using some masking tape (which I pressed off on my jeans a few times to reduce the tack) over my card base and got to painting. I started with the red in the top left corner and worked my way down and out. I didn’t want to cover the whole card so I tried to pay attention to where I was putting the colour. I then did the yellow and the blue.

When I removed the stencil I noticed that my painting had ended up a bit messier than I’d intended. The brush had gone under the stencil in some places. Perhaps I didn’t tape it tightly enough? I’m sure I’ll improve with practice! Anyway, I decided it was fine. It’s artistic!

I didn’t have any of my stamps with me so I wasn’t sure what exactly to add next. I figured I’d do some die cutting, as I had my machine available for a change! I found the butterfly die which I haven’t used before (sorry, I forgot to write down what it was, and I don’t have it to hand now!) and cut that from a piece of red card as close in shade to the red paint as I was able to find. I also wanted a sentiment. I have a couple of word dies, but most of them were too small. This “forever” die (which I think was from a Carta Bella set) was the perfect size!

I didn’t really want to cut the sentiment from blue or yellow, and I didn’t want to bring in any other colours so I decided to use a neutral – black seemed a good choice!

Assembly was fairly straight forward, once I located an appropriate adhesive! I ended up using an almost empty glue stick. I covered the back of the sentiment and positioned that. It was a little too wide for the card but I just trimmed the excess. For the butterfly I only glued down the body, having manipulated the wings to give a bit of volume to it.

Forever Butterfly 2

If I ignore the part of my brain that tells me it’s not perfect because it’s messy, I am pretty pleased with this card. I think it’s good to push myself to be a bit more relaxed (and that seems like an oxymoron!) when it comes to my crafting. Can’t let the perfectionist tendencies take over! I think the colours work well, and I like the simplicity of the card. Not sure what occasion this could be used for…

Love,

Lady Joyful

20 thoughts on “Forever Butterfly

  1. Vibrant, fun and super striking! Love the detail with the butterflies to match the stencilling and you’ve worked wonders for a first attempt. Thanks for sharing with us at AAA Cards. Sarah

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your “messy” card and I love how you used primary colours and added die cut embelishments. Thanks for playing with us At Pile it On. We would love to see your projects again. Keti (DT)

    Like

Leave a Reply

