Flyin By’

Flyin' ByThe first card I made for you today is based on a wonderful card by Julia Altermann. The challenge from Time Out Challenges is to CASE her card. I decided to combine the challenge with Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s hip to be square, CAS on Sunday‘s balloon challenge, and Moving Along With The Times‘ CAS challenge.

I started by choosing the elements I wanted to take inspiration from. Of course there is the flying element, which I represented with the hot air balloon – a Panduro Hobbyย stamp. I also took inspiration from the sentiment itself which I used exactly as is, as well as the blue striped frame (the colour didn’t come through very well in the photo – lighting was no longer any good by the time I was able to photograph!).

With all that decided I got down to the making. I cut and folded some white card to make a square card base. I then found some blue striped vellum and used my trimmer to cut it down to fit the card front before trimming out a square from the centre.

Next wasย my balloon. I first stamped the balloon part onto a piece of red patterned paper (picking up the red of the plane in Julia’s image) then stamped the basket onto some plain brown paper. I fussy cut each part.

For the strings of the balloon I stamped directly onto the cardbase. Then, with my frame in place, I used liquid glue to attach the parts of the balloon in the correct places.

Finally I stamped my sentiment, which I made up with letters from Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs.

Flyin' By 2I’m pretty happy with how this turned out, though the colours are not as bright as I would have liked. I do like how the balloon overlaps the frame. I think it gives more of an impression of movement to it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

10 thoughts on “Flyin By’

  1. So fun, Charlotte … the delicacy of the striped vellum frame is fabulous with that bold PP … seems the balloon is drifting out of the edge of the frame … brilliant! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Time Out! Anita ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

