Oh Happy Day

Oh Happy DayThe second card I’m sharing with you is another one inspired by someone else’s card. This time it is Meredith MacRitchie‘s card for Muse:Christmas Visions. I’m also entering this card to Craftyhazelnut’s Christmas Challenge (use a sentiment) and Christmas Challenge Extra, as well as Rudolph Days.

Initially looking at the card I had no idea how to make something based off it. I think it is a gorgeous card, but I don’t have any plain vellum, Christmas-y flower stamps, joy based sentiments…

I decided I’d have to be a bit looser in my interpretation. And this card is what I ended up with. My points of inspiration are the white, red and pink, the flowers (in so much as the template I used is retro flowers), and the joy which I represented with the word happy.

I started by creating my background. I used one of my new templates along with some watercolour paints. I applied the paint (both pink and red) with a sponge using a pouncing motion. The red overpowered the pink a bit, but you can still see it in places!

Next I added my sentiment. The “happy” is from Altenew’s Halftone Happy. I considered using the fuller sentiment rather than the outline, but decided against it as it would cover the background pattern. The rest of the sentiment is made from Lawn Fawn’s Jessie’s ABCs.

As a final touch I filled in the happy sentiment using my clear Wink of Stella.

Oh Happy Day 2I’m pretty pleased with how this turned out. It’s fairly simple but I think it is effective. Although I wonder if it is clear enough that it is a Christmas card!

Love,

Lady Joyful

20 thoughts on “Oh Happy Day

  1. This Wishing you Joy sentiment is lovely. I notice a huge resurgence of vellum lately and yours looks great here. I like the way is allows your stamped background to shine through yet not overpower.the card.
    Thanks for taking part in the Aug Rudolph days Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the red and white are very effective and i love the wink of stella on the sentiment on this fabulous holiday card! thank you so much for playing along with us at the rudolph days challenge!
    linda
    rudolph days challenge DT

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Oh yes, I agree so much – it can be fun to try and come up with an idea based on limited supplies. But it can also be frustrating if you have a really good idea that you don’t have the means to do!

      Like

Leave a Reply

