Legend of the Kraken

Legend of the KrakenI had so much fun making this card! It came together exactly how I wanted (excluding that one little smudge that probably no one but me can see…) It’s a response to a few different challenges. The layout comes from CAS(E) This Sketch and the colour scheme is from MFT’s Color Challenge. Alphabet Challenge Blog provided the mythical theme. Sweet Stampin’ requested no designer papers be used, whilst Pixie’s Snippets Playground asked for the inclusion of snippets.

This was one of those cards that I knew immediately exactly what I wanted to do. I started by creating my background. First I took a snippet of watercolour paper and trimmed it down to be the size of my card front. I then took one of my new stencils (Growing Dots by Marabu – I love how you can get a different look depending which area of the stencil you use!) and stuck it in place over my watercolour panel. Β I mixed up some water-colour paint to be as close as possible to “berrylicious” then used a sponge to pounce it on over the stencil. The paint was a bit runnier at the top, and I started to run out as I got towards the bottom. I managed to get the whole lot coloured by picking the colour off the stencil and moving it to the uncoloured areas (if that makes sense). The drier paint used on moving further down actually gives a slight impression of a fade, which I like.

With the background done I set it aside to dry whilst I made my kraken. (Krakens? How does that get pluralised? I think it is just kraken… One kraken, two kraken, red kraken, blue kraken? Okay, back on topic…) I stamped the kraken onto three snippets of the same paper I’d used for the background. I wanted the kraken to include the greys provided. Or as close as I could manage. I guess the white is in the highlight too, though I was considering it included from the background.

Anyway, I used my colouring pencils to colour the kraken. I did one at a time, trying to keep them relatively similar looking but not worrying too much about it. I also made sure to add in shadows though as they’re not really in a scene there isn’t an actual light source. Regardless, I tried to keep the location of the shadows and highlights fairly consistent across all three of them. Colouring took me quite a while!

With the colouring done I got down to fussy cutting them all out, which again was a fairly time-consuming process. I then added foam tape to the back sides of each kraken.

Before sticking the kraken in place I stamped my sentiment. Yes, I remembered to do it first this time! I used the you’re a legend sentiment from the same stamp set as the kraken (Lawn Fawn’s Lovable Legends). The sentiment is all on one line, but I selectively stamped it to get it to fit the space I wanted.

Finally I adhered my kraken in place, weighted them down with an acrylic block to make sure they stuck properly, and I was done!

Legend of the Kraken 2

I am so pleased with how this turned out. It’s exactly how I’d imagined! The stencil works wonderfully for this kind of-sort of scene (but not really a scene, but kind of…) I was initially concerned that the kraken would be a bit too plain being grey, but actually they pop nicely against the background. So yeah, all in all… I am very happy!

Love,

Lady Joyful

18 thoughts on “Legend of the Kraken

  1. Pingback: Thought-Of-The-Day: August 31st | The Joyful Soul

  2. A fun card, the kraken are cute and look great against your stenciled background. Perfect sentiment! Thanks for joining us at Sweet Stampin’ this week.
    Chris
    x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

