Stitched Heart

Stitched Heart

I’ve been so busy making cards today that I almost forgot to share this one with you! I made this yesterday, whilst I was at home ill. (And yes, I am feeling better now, though I have a horrible tickly cough.) My main source of inspiration was the current Muse challenge. The main points I picked up on were the layout, the large heart, the puzzle effect to the heart, and, to an extent, the colour scheme. I was originally intending on sticking to the same colour scheme but then I realised if I added some red I could enter it to Color Throwdown, so I decided to do that. I also wanted to include the stitching themed challenges from both CASology and Simon Says Stamp Monday. Finally I am including Simon Says Stamp Wednesday‘s anything goes challenge.

Muse Challenge #181 by Sarah Platt

I wanted to start with the heart, but wasn’t sure how to go about it. I don’t have any large heart stamps. I already knew I wanted to use my Marabu Honeycomb stencil as the way to give the puzzle effect, so I would need a mask of some variety. I was about toΒ try freehand drawing it on a piece of scrap paper when I noticed that the cheap notepad use for scrap paper (that I got as a freebie when I was studying nursing!) had a heart on it! It has a pattern like a hand, with the fingers being people and the palm a large heart. Pretty much the size I needed for what I wanted to do. That made my life easier. I just pulled a page from the notebook, cut out the heart (gruesome..!), and my mask was ready.

As I knew the stencil would leave relatively large gaps behind the honeycomb pattern I decided first to paint the heart so that it had a base colour. I positioned my mask directly on the card base and used a make up sponge to apply water-colour paint. I used mostly blue but bought in some yellow on one edge, and blended them together. Then I laid down my stencil and sponged over again, this time with green. Once I was done I removed the stencil and the mask.

It felt like the heart was still missing something. The lack of an outline didn’t look right. I don’t have a fine-liner (I know, I know… What kind of card-maker am I?! If you have any recommendations for fine-liners, please let me know!) so I decided I would paint one on. I knew I wouldn’t be able to get it how I wanted if I tried to just follow the outline, so I tried a different approach. I took the other part of my mask (the heart I’d cut away) and used it to cover up my heart. I then took a dry, fairly stiff paintbrush and used some black paint and a stippling motion to apply a line all around the heart. It almost looks furry I think!

I set my painted card base aside to dry and worked on my components for the bottom of the card. I knew I had some yellow striped vellum that would work perfectly for the panel along the bottom edge. I didn’t have anything that seemed a suitable alternative to that lovely glittery strip. It was this point that I decided I’d include the Color Throwdown challenge so I found the piece of red polka dot paper and trimmed a narrow strip of that.

Now that my painted heart was dry I took my white gel pen and added faux stitching to all the little green segments. I think this is actually the first time I’ve ever done faux stitching! I’ve seen it done though, so I did know more or less what I was doing.

I then wanted to attach my papers to the bottom of the card. Usually with vellum I try to hide the adhesive under some other element that is on top of the vellum. However I recently discovered that if I cover the back of the vellum with a thin layer of glue from a regular glue stick I can attach it securely without any adhesive showing. I was really surprised by this actually – it doesn’t show at all. Maybe I’m missing some reason that you shouldn’t use glue stick on vellum? In any case, it worked well so I did that.

I then added the red strip. I used Tombow Multi Mono Liquid glue for that as it allowed a moment of wiggle time to make sure it was completely aligned.

Next I added my sentiment. I used my MISTI to make sure positioning was exactly as I wanted, and then stamped the words, which are from Altenew’s Super Script, with black pigment ink.

Finally for an extra pop of red I decided to add some heart stickers. We actually bought these for decorating place cards at our wedding, if I remember correctly! I still have 30-odd left almost three years later (our anniversary is a week on Wednesday!)Β Anyway. I used one as if it was the dot on the i (there’s a name for that, but I forget what it is…) and then added two others as extra embellishment. And that was the card done.

Stitched Heart 2

I’m reasonably pleased with how this turned out. I think I did a good job considering the limits of the supplies I had available to me. I find the way the heart turned out really interesting. I can’t decide whether it looks like a brightly coloured heart-shaped football (soccer ball) or an odd world. I think colouring the background of the heart was a good idea. I really like the depth it added to it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

22 thoughts on “Stitched Heart

    1. Thank you! I love the extra challenge of seeing what challenges can go together. It gives an extra layer of fun! πŸ™‚ I think the key is to see which ones naturally fall together (like the two stitch themes). Or sometimes I just choose one or two as a starting point, make a card based off those, and then see which of the challenges on my list the resulting card would suit.

      Like

  1. You’ve certainly been busy with this one despite feeling ill – can’t believe how many challenges you’ve managed to link up to but I’m thrilled that you were inspired by my Muse card and I love the patchwork heart and the bold ‘friend’ sentiment. Thanks for playing along. Sarah x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WOW! You made this fabulous card while you were ill? That is impressive! Glad you’re feeling better but am impressed at your skills even while coughing, etc.! I especially like the combination of bright colors, yet you’ve used them in just the right amounts. I also like the unique patterns you combined. This came together beautifully and I’m so glad you shared your talents with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

